Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About the Library

Library policies, services, and collections

Mission of the Library

The College of the Redwoods Library supports the college commitment ot enhancing learning opportunities for students, faculty, staff, and the community it serves.  To this end, the library's mission is to:

  • Provide high-quality services and programs that promote information literacy, critical thinking, lifelong learning skills, and a spirit of free inquiry in CR students and the campus community.
  • Provide organized information resources that support the achievement of program and learning outcomes throughout the college.
  • Provide an environment, physical and virtual, conducive to the access, use, study, and understanding of information resources, to the community of learners.

Library Hours

LIBRARY HOURS

Check the CR library's main webpage for current library hours.

REFERENCE and RESEARCH HELP:
Librarians are available by phone, chat, or email.
Call 707-476-4260, or use the "Chat with a Librarian" icon on most library webpages.

You can also submit research questions using our Ask-a-Librarian email service:
On any library page with a "chat" icon, if chat is not available the icon will automatically transfer you to a form to submit your questions. You should receive a response within 48 hours in most cases.

CIRCULATION DESK
Do you have questions about checkouts, reserve materials, or your library account?
Call the Circulation Desk at 707-476-4260 during our open hours or email us at library-circulation@redwoods.edu.

RETURNING LIBRARY BOOKS AND EQUIPMENT
Library books and DVDs may be returned in the book drop to the right of the front doors at any time.  Equipment checked out from the library must be returned in person.

Student success and the library

Many classes have assignments that require students to locate reliable sources of information. Students often assume this information will be easy to locate on the web. If that assumption proves incorrect, librarians and library staff are ready to help you find what you need to meet the requirements of the assignment, whether in the library or on the internet. Below is some data showing the extent of library support we provide to students:

  • The CR library has over 95K books, eBooks, DVDs, and other items that can be borrowed, including headphones, flash drives, calculators, laptops, study roooms
  • Library patrons borrow about 2K items per month
  • Librarians and library staff answer about 18.5K questions per year
  • Librarians teach about 650 students how to do research per year
  • The library has over 40 online  databases, which are searched by students about 75K times per year

 

Library Services

The CR Library is located on the Eureka campus, and is open Monday through Friday throughout most of the year.  Limited hours on Saturdays may be available at the Eureka Campus during Fall and Spring terms.  CR students, staff, faculty, and District residents with legal picture identification may borrow materials to take home or may use materials in the library.

Collections and Borrowing:  In addition to the general collection, the CR library includes collections of reserve materials, eBooks, videos, fiction, and a juvenile collection.  Most materials can be checked out for use at home. See tabs above for more information about loan periods and policies.

Reference Services: Library faculty provide research advice and assistance, as well as instruction in the use of library collections and resources and the use of the library's online materials.  Librarians also provide instruction and research workshops to classes at the request of faculty.

Online Library Services and Resources: Online databases provide access to full-text articles, e-books, streaming media, and a wide variety of research information 24/7, and can be accessed through the library website.  On-campus, these resources are available to any library user.  Off-campus access is limited to current CR students and staff, and requires a password to access. Reference services are also available from off-campus through the Chat link on the library website, or through submission of the "Ask-a-Librarian" web form for email.

Library Computers and Copiers: The Eureka library has over 100 computer stations, all of which have internet access and a full suite of MS Office applications. Scanners are available at many workstations.  Copiers are available for public use.  Printing is available in both color and black-and-white.  For more information, please use the tabs at the top of this page.