Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Native Americans: Articles and Databases

The library offers this guide to resources as a way to support student understanding and awareness of history, culture, and contributions of Native Americans

College of the Redwoods Databases

Go to College of the Redwoods Library's A to Z list of databases (link below) to choose your database. Read the database description to choose the best database for your research project, or use one of the selection tools at the top of the page. Then, click the database name and search. Use one or two words or phrases. Try some of the suggested search words listed in this guide. For off-campus or wireless access, login with your WebAdvisor user ID and eight digit birth date. Listed below are some of the librarian's recommendations for databases useful for this subject.

Featured Database: Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch specializes in media from ethnic and minority communities, including tribally-specific, regional, and national publications by and about Native Americans.  Publications in Ethnic NewsWatch range from popular magazines such as News From Native California to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals such as American Indian Quarterly.  Visit our guide to learn how to use all of Ethnic NewsWatch's features at https://redwoods.libguides.com/EthnicNewsWatch

Click on the link below to run a search in Ethnic NewsWatch.

Articles and Databases

Other Useful Databases

ThumbnailBritannica Online 

General multiple-subject encyclopedia, audio, video, and image files, links to college-level, quality websites.

 ‚ÄčCQ Researcher                       
Research reports on current issues and controversial topics, pro and con arguments, graphics, maps, charts, links to college-level, quality websites.

Credo Reference Thumbnail

Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, nearly 200 videos. Credo also provides links to relevant materials from the library's other resources listed on this page.

 Historical Abstract of the United States      

Find historical to current decade statistics of the USA on a wide range of subjects. Historical context is provided in introductory essays by recognized experts.

Films on Demand Database: Featured Video

Remote Login Required

If you are off campus, or if you are using a wireless device while on campus, you may be prompted to login to get into the library's subscription databases or ebooks. In that case, this is what you will see:

Remote login is required to prove that you are a student at College of the Redwoods, because the library pays for student, faculty, and staff access for these resources based on our student enrollment. (Login is not required if you are using a computer connected to the main campus network.)