Skip to main content

Ethnic NewsWatch: Searching, Finding, Collecting, Citing: About

Finding the best of the ethnic and minority press, journal articles, and scholarly publications.

What is Ethnic NewsWatch?

Ethnic NewsWatch comprehensively covers minority issues in periodical literature. A ground-breaking resource from the beginning, Ethnic NewsWatch remains the only multi-cultural and multi-ethnic database of current periodicals. The publications include scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, as well as important grass-roots publications. Ethnic NewsWatch provides a broad and deep, dynamic collection of more than two million full-text articles from 390 publications, from 1970 forward. 

While Ethnic NewsWatch is noted for its coverage of grassroots, community and independent press publications, it is also heavily used for scholarly research. As a result, in 2012 new types of content were added such as dissertations and scholarly working papers. These selected dissertations and working papers will provide context and deeper research into the issues and topics of ethnic studies.

Of the more than 2.5 million articles contained in the collection, nearly a quarter are presented in Spanish, making Ethnic NewsWatch a useful bilingual resource of current periodicals.

Ethnic Groups

Ethnic NewsWatch comprehensively covers the following ethnic categories:

  • African American/Caribbean/African
  • Arab/Middle Eastern
  • Asian/Pacific Islander
  • European/Eastern European
  • Hispanic
  • Jewish
  • Native People

Publication Types

  • Conference Papers & Proceedings
  • Dissertations & Theses
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers
  • Reports
  • Scholarly Journals
  • Trade Journals
  • Wire Feeds

Subjects Covered

Ethnic NewsWatch comprehensively covers the following Subjects:

  • Human Rights
  • Activism
  • Ethnic groups
  • Minorities
  • Culture
  • Religion
  • Independent press
  • Local, national, and international events
  • Ethnic studies
  • Multi-ethnic
  • Multi-cultural
  • African American
  • Caribbean
  • African
  • Hispanic American
  • Native American
  • Indigenous peoples
  • Asian
  • Pacific Islanders
  • Arab Americans
  • Middle Eastern Americans
  • European Americans
  • Eastern European
  • Jewish Americans

Product Access

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit:

Librarian

Cathy Cox's picture
Cathy Cox
Contact:
Cathy Cox
Library Director
College of the Redwoods
7351 Tompkins Hill Rd.
Eureka, CA 95501
707-476-4260

Remote Login Required

If you are off campus or using a wireless device while on campus, you may be prompted to login to get into the database. This is what you will see:

Remote login is required to prove that you are a student at College of the Redwoods, because these library databases are not free, open website available to anyone. Library resources are valuable and often expensive, because the information provided is reliable, credible, and based on a lot of work by many people. The library pays for student, faculty, and staff access.