We encourage faculty to put items on reserve in the Library for student use. Placing important course materials on reserve is a good way to make sure they are available to all students in the class. Textbooks on reserve allow students to keep up in class while they wait for financial or the arrival of books ordered online.
Students can check items out for use in the library for two hours. Term checkout for students is available if multiple copies are provided or purchased.
The library has minimal funds available to purchase textbooks. If we already own the item, we can move it to Reserves for the semester, but in most cases, you will need to provide us with a copy (or copies) from your departmental/personal collection.
To check if your text is already in the reserve collection, you can search in OneSearch for the title. Be sure you are searching only materials in the CR Books and Videos, and not Everything; and you can limit your search to books held at a specific location (Eureka or Del Norte).
The library can keep just about anything you like on reserve for student use. We have updated our Course Reserves Policy which covers how to put items on reserve, what can go on reserve, and how non-book equipment can be put on reserve.
The library has a collection of textbooks on reserve for use by CR students. They can be checked out from the circulation desk of the library during our open hours. Although we have many textbooks, we do not have copies of every textbook used at CR.
Finding Your Book:
You can check to see if your textbook is in the reserve collection. Use the OneSearch box below and enter the title of the text.
Limit your search using the options on the left to "CR Books and Videos" and "Held by Library".
If we have copies on reserve, they will show up with a note that they are located in the Reserve collection (see the example below):
Enter the title of your textbook in the box below:
 |
In addition to textbooks, the library's reserve collection includes certain equipment needed for courses. These items are available on a first-come, first-served basis. In many cases, they can be checked out for use at home for the duration of the semester.