Skip to Main Content

Citation Help

Correctly citing your sources is critical to research project success. The guide provides students with support in learning APA and MLA styles.

Generating Citations in Databases

Each of the databases listed on the sub-tabs in this section has similar, but slightly different, methods for generating and collecting citations, along with the content or articles you find. Some databases have limitations you need to know about. The college librarians have tested the various options offered in the different databases so that we can show you the easiest way to get all the information your need for your citations.

 

ALWAYS PROOF READ!

Word processing software, library databases, and many online resources, apps, and tools, offer automatic citation formatting. However, these systems are NOT ALWAYS ACCURATE and sometimes do not allow you to include all of the important elements. Further, many online databases citations may be an OLDER EDITION of the style. While you may use these tools, it is important to double check their accuracy with one of the more reliable guides and shortcut tools.Consider the provided citations as a starting point and be sure to proof-read your citations following the most current style and format.

 

You will find some examples of generating citations in databases in the boxes below. For more help, please refer to a Librarian. 

Off-Campus Login

Library Database Off-Campus Upgrade Complete

Upgrade is complete - for off-campus access to the CR library databases use your CR email address and password. 

If you are having issues logging in, please email us at library-circulation@redwoods.edu 



If you are off campus, or if you are using a wireless device while on campus, you may be prompted to login with your CR email address and password to get into the library's subscription databases or eBooks. Remote login is required to prove that you are a student at College of the Redwoods, because the library pays for student, faculty, and staff access for these resources based on our student enrollment. (Login is not required if you are using a computer connected to the main campus network.)

Britannica Citations

Britannica is an online encyclopedia, useful for broad overviews of a topic and for finding background information when you start your research. 

General multiple-subject encyclopedia, audio, video, and image files, links to college-level, quality websites

All Britannica Online articles include a row of icons across the top of the article. Use the check mark icon, circled in blue, to open up a citation for that article. The default style choice is MLA format but APA, Harvard, and Chicago are included. 

If you print the article, a citation will be included. 

Note: If you email the article to yourself, it will link you back to the article but it won't open if you are not logged in. 

CREDO Reference Citations

Credo is a database with books, articles, and much more - useful for both general background information as well as for finding detailed information from reference books on your topic.

 

 

Citations are easily generated by clicking on the Quotation Marks icon near the title of the article, as pictured. Select the required citation format from the drop-down menu afterwards. The citation will then appear in a pop-up window for you to copy and paste.

Citations are also included when you print or save the article. 

EBSCO Citations

Most of the library's databases are provided by the same vendor, EBSCO. Visit the library's "A to Z" page to see a list of all databases provided by the library, free to students. Use the "Vendor / Provider" selection box to view a list of all the databases from EBSCO.

You can find a link to the databases below:

EBSCO databases all share the same graphic design, layout, and commands. The examples below are from the "Academic Search Complete" but the same features are found in any other EBSCO database. 

If you only want one article, click the article title to display a list of "Tools" for just that one article, as pictured. 

 

Citations are generated by clicking on the Cite icon, indicated by the red arrow. Choose the format style you need and then save the citation. 

 

To save the article click on the Permalink icon, indicated by the blue arrow. This will give you a link to save so you can find the article again. Do NOT use the URL displayed at the top of the browser screen! Always use the permalink.

 

EBSCO also allows you to save and cite multiple articles at a time.

Shown below is the best way to get citations from multiple articles, using the "add to folder" option. 

Look at the articles you are interested in and add those to the folder by clicking the blue folder icon with the plus mark that is displayed to the right of the article title. When the article has been added, the blue folder icon will turn yellow, as pictured. 

After adding to the folder all the articles you like, you can try a new search and continue to add more articles. When done, look for the Folder icon (located at the top of the page) showing a yellow folder with pages sticking out.

It will prompt you to sign in/make an account if you haven’t yet. When you open the folder select the articles you want to send to yourself by checking the box by each article title. Once you've made your selections, choose the "Email" icon you see on the right.

This will open up the email form. Fill out the form with your email address, and a subject, and be sure to select your citation format. After that, hit send and you will receive an email with all your articles in it. 

Ethnic Newswatch (ProQuest) Citations

Ethnic NewsWatch 

Full text of newspapers, magazines, journals, and newsletters of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Designed to provide the other side of the story, Ethnic NewsWatch titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly content, peer reviewed journals, dissertations, working papers.

(In this example, several articles are cited at once but you can also choose to do them one at a time)

A search for #metoo found several thousand results but was trimmed down via date and newspaper exclusions. From the remaining articles, three were selected by using the check box to the left of the article title as shown.

Notice the blue circled "Cite" icon. Click on this icon to pop open a window with citation options, as shown in the next box below.

(Keep in mind this will generate ONLY a CITATION LIST for your selected articles. It will not generate for print, save, or email, the full text of the articles. In this database, collecting the citations and collecting the full text of the articles, are done in separate steps)

 

 

Here's the Cite options pop-up window. Review all the options carefully, and make your selections. The default citation format is APA 6th edition so be sure to switch to the correct format.  

Copy the entire citation list from the pop-up window, or use the "Email" option to send the list to yourself.

Printing is an option, however, you will then need to re-type everything into your document.

The "Export" feature only works if you have purchased a separate bibliographic utility as an add-on to your word processing software.

OneSearch Citations

. . . is the library's "discovery system" or catalog.  It searches all the library's books, videos, and other resources, both print and online, as well as a wide variety of reliable and authoritative online resources.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Use OneSearch to find materials. After you enter your search words you'll see a list of relevant results which include books, videos, and other materials. In this list (as pictured above), all the items retrieved are books. Notice the row of icons to the right of the book title.

Link icon = permalink to this item record

Envelope icon = email this item record

Pin icon = save to favorites (must have an account)

Three dots = more options (click on this option to CREATE CITATIONS)

After selecting the three dots, you'll see options with new icons: Print, Citation, Permalink, and Email.

Choose the Citation icon. Your citation to that item appears in the box below the item record. To the left you'll see various citation formats to choose from, and at the bottom, "Copy Citation to Clipboard" link. You can then paste the citation into your document or file.