Skip to main content

Citation Help: APA Style

Correctly citing your sources is critical to research project success. The guide provides students with support in learning APA and MLA styles.

Basic information about the American Psychological Association (APA) format and style for research papers and for citations. Scroll down for models of citations for different types of sources.

What is APA Style?

APA style is set and updated as needed by the American Psychological AssociationAPA style is used for most courses in the sciences, which may include Biology, Business, Chemistry, Communication & Media Studies, Criminology, Economics, Education, Forestry, Linguistics, Nursing, Psychology, Science, Social Science, Sociology. "Style" includes more than just citation formats. It also covers how to write clearly, how to organize and layout your paper or project, punctuation, word choice, spelling, use of fonts, abbreviations and acronyms, critical thinking and fundamentals of research.

Full Citations: Books

Print Book, Single Author

Author, A. A. (Year) Title of book. Place: Publisher.

Dundes, A. (1980) Interpreting folklore. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University.


E-Book

Author, A.A. (Year) Title of book: Include subtitle. Retrieved from database or database URL. doi: xxxxxxx

Austin, J. (2008) ESP, psychokinesis, and psychics: Mysteries, legends, and unexplained phenomena. Retrieved from Ebsco eBooks database.

Full Citations: Articles found in online databases

Article from a Journal

Author, A. A. (Year). Article title: Include subtitle. Journal Title, vol#(issue#), page#-#.

Bosworth, D. (1999). The Science of self-deception. Salmagundi, (124/125), 95-151.


Article from a Journal in a Database 

Author, A. A. (Date) Article title. Journal Title. Volume(Issue), Page #(s). Retrieved from Database Title.

Matute, H., Yarritu, I., & Vadillo, M. A. (2011). Illusions of causality at the heart of pseudoscience. British Journal of Psychology, 102(3), 392-405. Retrieved from Academic Search.


Article from a Journal in a Database with a DOI

Author, A. A. (Date) Article title. Journal Title. Volume (Issue), Page #(s). doi: xxxxxxx

Mellon, R. (2009). Superstitious perception: Response-independent reinforcement and punishment as determinants of recurring eccentric interpretations. Behaviour and Research Therapy, 47(10), 868-875. doi:10.1016/j.brat.2009.06.016


Article from a Journal in a Database with Permanent URL 

Author, A. A. (Date) Article title. Journal Title. Volume(Issue), Page #(s). Retrieved from URL.

HAMERMAN, E. J., & JOHAR, G. V. (2013). Conditioned Superstition: Desire for Control and Consumer Brand Preferences. Journal of Consumer Research, 40(3), 428-443 Retrieved from http://ezproxy.redwoods.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=90168288&site=ehost-live&scope=site