It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research tools and sources on the subject of religion generally and specific religions
College of the Redwoods offers several classes in Philosophy, including one course in World Religions (Philosophy 15). While CR does not offer Associate Degrees for either Philosophy or Religion, these classes can help fulfill the requirements for other degree programs, including Associate Degree in Liberal Arts. In addition, many courses are transferrable to the UC and/or CSU systems (check catalog for more details).
Search Topics and Search Words
Here are some topic ideas and possible search words. Consult your textbook, class notes, or assignment guidelines for other ideas. When searching, use specific words. Use only one or two words. Try both plural and singular forms, and variant spellings. Try varying combinations.
This handout includes information on how to layout a paper and how to create the Reference List with different resource types, following the APA 6th edition.Current edition is the 7th, and a new handout is being prepared.
NoodleTools provides helpful tools for managing and organizing research projects that includes NoodleBib, used to create and save MLA 8th ed. or APA 6th ed. citation lists or annotated bibliographies, that can be exported to Word or Google docs. Create a personal account to create, save, and edit citation lists, outlines, notes, for any or all of your research projects.
You may be prompted to login with your WebAdvisor user ID and eight digit birth date
Just need one or two quick citations? use NoodleTools Express to format, copy, and paste single citations. Note: citations are not saved and cannot be exported to a word processor; use the full version to access all features.
Free utility does not require login
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: Del Norte & Eureka Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Del Norte & Eureka Reference LB2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Bedford Handbook by Diana Hacker; Nancy Sommers
Call Number: Reference and Reserve PE1408 .H277 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-18
Based on MLA Handbook, 7th edition; Current edition is the 8th and many rules have changed. Be sure to clarify with your instructor which edition is required.
Call Numbers for Browsing
College of the Redwoods Library Call Numbers
Books in College of the Redwoods library are filed by the Library of Congress system that uses letter-number combinations assigned by subject, so that most books about the same subject will be filed together on the shelf. HSU Library uses this same system, and so do most colleges and universities in the United States. Browse the titles on the shelf in the sections listed below for research topics on religion.
Most County, or public libraries in the United States will use the Dewey Decimal system, which uses numbers, and each number section represents a subject, so that books about the same subject are filed together on the shelf. Below are listed some number sections that are relevant to topics for research on religions. Remember to also check the Juvenile or children's collection, the YA or Young Adult collection, and the Reference collection.
210 Philosophy & theory or religion
220 The Bible
230–230.7 Christianity & Christian theology
231–239 Christianity & Christian theology
240 Christian practice & observance
250 Church pastoral practice & religious orders
260 Church organization, social work & worship
270 History of Christianity
280 Christian denominations
291–295 Comparative religion; Religions other than Christianity