It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An introduction to resources useful for researching topics in feminism and women's studies, including feminist theory, history, movements, and literature.
Feminism is an established movement that seeks the liberation of women from sexist oppression. It opposes, therefore, any ideology, institution, philosophy, movement, or people seeking to discriminate against women. Visit the links below for introduction to the topic. Sources are listed from shortest and simplest, to more complex and lengthy.
NoodleTools provides helpful tools for managing and organizing research projects that includes NoodleBib, used to create and save MLA 8th ed. or APA 6th ed. citation lists or annotated bibliographies, that can be exported to Word or Google docs. Create a personal account to create, save, and edit citation lists, outlines, notes, for any or all of your research projects.
You may be prompted to login with your WebAdvisor user ID and eight digit birth date
Just need one or two quick citations? use NoodleTools Express to format, copy, and paste single citations. Note: citations are not saved and cannot be exported to a word processor; use the full version to access all features.
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Del Norte & Eureka Reference LB2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Bedford Handbook by Diana Hacker; Nancy Sommers
Call Number: Reference and Reserve PE1408 .H277 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-18
Based on MLA Handbook, 7th edition; Current edition is the 8th and many rules have changed. Be sure to clarify with your instructor which edition is required.
Remote Login Required
If you are off campus or using a wireless device while on campus, you may be prompted to login to get into the library's subscription databases. In that case, this is what you will see:
Remote login is required to prove that you are a student at College of the Redwoods, because these library databases are not free, open website available to anyone. Library resources are valuable and often expensive, because the information provided is reliable, credible, and based on a lot of work by many people. The library pays for student, faculty, and staff access.