It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Early Childhood Education: Home
Here you will find library and internet resources for research on topics and issues in Early Childhood Education
This guide will give information on resources including books, databases, journals, and websites that may help students in classes for Childhood Development do the research they may need.
The Early Childhood Education Program at College of the Redwoods allows students to explore the most current and innovative theories and practices of Early Childhood Education. In addition to course work, students have opportunities to work directly with children in a child development setting. The program offers a certificate and an Associate of Science degree in Early Childhood Education that prepares students for transfer to four-year programs or for employment in child care and education. An Associate of Science degree is available as well for non-transfer. Course work enables students to meet licensing requirements for teacher and director under California laws and regulations. A Certificate of Achievement is available in Early Childhood Education at CR. Check for more classes and details at the ECE Department Website. The library supports student success in these programs by providing selected resources.
The Child Development Center is a unique program for children from 18 mos through 5 years old. They provide a high quality laboratory setting for Early Childhood Education students, and enriching, educational childcare for children of CR students, community parents, staff, and faculty.
For Del Norte and Distance Education students
Online resources are set up to be accessible to all students from any location at any time. You may be prompted to login using your WebAdvisor ID and your eight digit birth date. Physical format books from Eureka can be requested and delivered to Del Norte, and vice versa.
This handout includes information on how to layout a paper and how to create the Reference List with different resource types, following the APA 6th edition.Current edition is the 7th, and a new handout is being prepared.
NoodleTools provides helpful tools for managing and organizing research projects that includes NoodleBib, used to create and save MLA 8th ed. or APA 6th ed. citation lists or annotated bibliographies, that can be exported to Word or Google docs. Create a personal account to create, save, and edit citation lists, outlines, notes, for any or all of your research projects.
You may be prompted to login with your WebAdvisor user ID and eight digit birth date
Just need one or two quick citations? use NoodleTools Express to format, copy, and paste single citations. Note: citations are not saved and cannot be exported to a word processor; use the full version to access all features.
Free utility does not require login
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: Del Norte & Eureka Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Del Norte & Eureka Reference LB2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Bedford Handbook by Diana Hacker; Nancy Sommers
Call Number: Reference and Reserve PE1408 .H277 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-18
Based on MLA Handbook, 7th edition; Current edition is the 8th and many rules have changed. Be sure to clarify with your instructor which edition is required.