Resources - Contemporary Issues - Elections & Voting - LibGuides at College of the Redwoods

Selected Books and eBooks

Selected Books and e-Books

General collection and Oversize books can be borrowed for three weeks and renewed for another three weeks. Books are filed in alpha-numeric order on the shelf by "call number", a unique location code number. If you click on a book in the gallery below, and it's a print book, you will open the library catalog record with the information you need to request the book by phone - be sure to copy down the call number, title and author.

E-books are listed in OneSearch along with printed books, and can be used for research exactly the same way you would use a traditional book. If a book in the gallery below is an e-Book, it will open on your computer screen, but it may require you to login to open it if you are off-campus.

You can limit your search to e-books by selecting "book" as the resource type, and selecting availability of "online". Most e-books allow you to print or download a certain number of pages to your device, but how many varies from one publisher to another.

Politics of Freedom by David Boaz
ISBN: 9781933995267
Publication Date: 2008-01-18
During recent election cycles, pundits have colored everything in red and blue. In "The Politics of Freedom" David Boaz takes on both liberals and conservatives who seek to impose their own partisan agendas on the whole country. He explains the growing libertarian vote in America, how the Republicans became the tax-and-spend party, how the Democrats joined the Republicans in foreign adventurism, the betrayal of our constitutional rights, and everything from gay marriage and the nanny state to taxes and terrorism.
The Bellwether by Kyle Kondik
ISBN: 9780821445549
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Since 1896, Ohio voters have failed to favor the next president only twice (in 1944 and 1960). Time after time, Ohio has found itself in the thick of the presidential race, and 2016 is shaping up to be no different. What about the Buckeye State makes it so special?
Parties and Elections in America by Louis Sandy Maisel; Mark D. Brewer
ISBN: 9781442201033
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
This book covers all elements of parties and the electoral process, including local, state, and national party organizations; American party history and party systems; state and local nominations; state and local elections; presidential nominations; and presidential elections.
Presidential Debates by Alan Schroeder
ISBN: 9780231541503
Publication Date: 2016-06-28
The primary purpose of the Commission on Presidential Debates (CPD) is to sponsor and produce the quadrennial general debates and to undertake research and educational activities relating to the debates
States United: A Survival Guide for Our Democracy by Joanna Lydgate, Norman Eisen, and Christine Todd Whitman
ISBN: 9781501770098
Publication Date: 2022
The Laurence and Lynne Brown Democracy Medal, presented by the McCourtney Institute for Democracy at Penn State, recognizes outstanding individuals, groups, and organizations that produce innovations to further democracy in the United States or around the world. Elections are the bedrock of any democracy, but they are under attack in the United States. State legislatures are moving to limit voting rights and seize control of election administration, candidates are refusing to accept election results, and antidemocracy forces are sowing lies and encouraging political violence.The States United Democracy Center is fighting back by equipping state and local officials, law enforcement leaders, and pro-democracy partners with the tools and resources they need to protect free, fair, and secure elections. For this important work, its cofounders are the recipients of the 2022 Brown Democracy Medal. States United was founded during the 2020 election and continues to be led by Joanna Lydgate, former chief deputy attorney general of Massachusetts; Norman Eisen, former ambassador to the Czech Republic and special assistant to President Barack Obama for ethics and government reform; and Christine Todd Whitman, former New Jersey governor and Environmental Protection Agency administrator.

Articles, Documents, and Newspapers

If you are logging on remotely you may be prompted to login to the database. See the "Remote Login Required" box below for complete instructions.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from over 2,100 academic research journals dating back to 1985, many are peer reviewed. Use Firefox or Chrome.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Research reports on current issues and controversial topics, pro and con arguments, graphics, maps, charts, links to college-level, quality websites
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Brief, accurate, unbiased definitions, history, explanations. Search by topic words.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of newspapers, magazines, journals, and newsletters of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Designed to provide the other side of the story, Ethnic NewsWatch titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Includes scholarly content, peer reviewed journals, dissertations, working papers.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text from 860 newspapers, with 35 million full-text articles, and 857,000 television and radio news program transcripts. Use Firefox or Chrome.
You may be prompted to login with your WebAdvisor user ID and eight digit birth date
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 80 business publications from US metropolitan and rural areas. Use Firefox or Chrome.
You may be prompted to login with your WebAdvisor user ID and eight digit birth date

Articles, Documents, Newspapers and Organizations on the Web

ACE Project
The foremost aim of ACE, is to foster the integrity of elections and to promote credible, sustainable, professional and inclusive electoral processes throughout the globe.
Pew Research
A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research and do not take policy positions.
Google Scholar
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Warning: while many resources are free, some will provide abstracts only and require payment for to access the complete article.
American Civil Liberties
The ACLU works to protect and expand Americansʼ freedom to vote.
League of Women Voters
Nonpartisan, neither supporting nor opposing candidates or political parties at any level of government. Works on vital issues of concern to members and the public

Streaming Videos

America's Great Divide: From Obama to Trump, Episode 1
Two Cheers for Two Parties: A Debate
Critics argue that the two-party system runs contrary to the intent of the nation's founders and has created a political process that concentrates power in the hands of elites, makes compromise difficult, and fails to represent the electorate. It's time, they contend, for real structural change. Others argue that the two-party system is necessary to rein in the extremes on both ends of the political spectrum and promote the democratic institutions that are essential to the nation's governance.

Remote Login Required

If you are off campus, or if you are using a wireless device while on campus, you may be prompted to login with your CR email address and password to get into the library's subscription databases or eBooks. Remote login is required to prove that you are a student at College of the Redwoods, because the library pays for student, faculty, and staff access for these resources based on our student enrollment. (Login is not required if you are using a computer connected to the main campus network.)