LibGuides: Astronomy: Library Materials

Introduction to Library Materials

Library Materials

Many useful resources are available in the College of the Redwoods Library, including books, reference books, eBooks, and videos. Additional resources may be available at the Del Norte or Humboldt County Libraries and Cal Poly Humboldt Library. Visit those libraries' websites to search their catalogs. Use OneSearch to find books and other resources about your topic in the CR library and selected, college-level resources on the web.

Selected Library Resources (use the tabs to see different collections)

Fundamentals of Galaxy Dynamics, Formation and Evolution by Ignacio Ferreras
ISBN: 1911307622
Publication Date: 2020-04-02
Galaxies, along with their underlying dark matter halos, constitute the building blocks of the universe. Of all the fundamental forces, gravity is the dominant one that drives the evolution of structures from small density seeds to the galaxies we see today.
Cosmos and Man by John Engledew
ISBN: 9781628943443
Publication Date: 2018-06-15
Engledew, an accomplished author of popular science books, describes nothing less than stellar astronomy, the structure of the solar system, the nature of time and space in terms of cosmology, the expanding universe and some possible fates of the cosmos -- all in a brief, succinct and accurate way. Scientific wonders and the spectacular nature of the universe are explored in terms of 'exotic beasts' like black holes and neutron stars.
Edwin Hubble by G. E Chrisitanson
ISBN: 1351453858
Publication Date: 2019-03-04
Edwin Hubble: Mariner of the Nebulae is both the biography of an extraordinary human being and the story of the greatest quest in the history of astronomy since the Copernican revolution. The book is a revealing portrait of scientific genius, an incisive engaging history of ideas, and a shimmering evocation of what we see when gazing at the stars.
Successfully Starting in Astronomical Spectroscopy by Francois Cochard; Mathieu Renzo (Translator)
ISBN: 9782759820269
Publication Date: 2020-11-04
You have decided to jump into astronomical spectroscopy, or you are thinking about it. If you wish to understand how to start, to go deeper, or simply increase your knowledge and improve your results, then this book is made for you! This book is a guide; it is very practical. It addresses all the issues required to quickly assist you in obtaining quality spectra with a slit spectroscope. We talk about astrophysics and optics, but it is not an astrophysical or optical course.
Astronomy by Andrew Fraknoi; David Morrison; Sidney C. Wolff
ISBN: 1938168283
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
Astronomy is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of one- or two-semester introductory astronomy courses. The book begins with relevant scientific fundamentals and progresses through an exploration of the solar system, stars, galaxies, and cosmology. The Astronomy textbook builds student understanding through the use of relevant analogies, clear and non-technical explanations, and rich illustrations. Mathematics is included in a flexible manner to meet the needs of individual instructors.

The Interstellar Age by Jim Bell
Call Number: QB601 .B45 2015
ISBN: 9780525954323
Publication Date: 2015
The New Cosmos by David J. Eicher; Alex Filippenko
Call Number: QB43.3 .E33 2015
ISBN: 9781107068858
Publication Date: 2015
Welcome to the Universe by Neil deGrasse Tyson; J. Richard Gott; Michael Strauss
Call Number: QB982 .T974 2016
ISBN: 9780691157245
Publication Date: 2016
Exoplanets by Michael E. Summers; James Trefil
ISBN: 9781588345943
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
The past few years have seen an incredible explosion in our knowledge of the universe. Since its 2009 launch, the Kepler satellite has discovered more than two thousand exoplanets, or planets outside our solar system. More exoplanets are being discovered all the time, and even more remarkable than the sheer number of exoplanets is their variety.
Welcome to Mars by Buzz Aldrin; Marianne Dyson (As told to); National Geographic
ISBN: 9781426322068
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Space is still the final frontier and Mars continues to make news and attract generations of young people. In this fascinating book, hero-astronaut Buzz Aldrin challenges curious kids to think about Mars as not just a faraway red planet but as a possible future home for Earthlings! What will your new home be like? How will you get there? What will you eat for breakfast? Find out what life might be like far, far from Earth as you navigate your way through this fun and fascinating book.

Reference books include encyclopedias, handbooks, manuals, guides, dictionaries, and compilations of resources such as primary documents. Reference books will provide a good overview of your topic, in a short and well organized way, and are good for getting started with any research assignment.

Printed reference materials must be used in the library, but usually you will only need to consult these sources briefly.

Cambridge Illustrated Dictionary of Astronomy by Jacqueline Mitton
ISBN: 9780521823647
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of space and astronomy by Joseph A. Angelo
ISBN: 1787851788
Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy, Revised Edition, offers a complete, up-to-date presentation of the main concepts, terms, facilities, and people in astronomy. The encyclopedia pays special attention to space-based astronomy and space exploration. Broad coverage includes terms such as astrophysics, planetary engineering, and cosmology, as well as both American and international astronomy and space technology.
Astronomy by BarCharts, Inc.
ISBN: 9781423234654
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
As a student, stargazer, or lover of our galaxy, space and the infinite, there is no resource for this price that in 6 pages can show you the universe this completely yet succinctly. Expertly authored with balanced coverage, the number of detailed facts and answers to our questions about planets, our galaxy and the universe makes this the biggest bang for your buck - guaranteed.
The Astronomy Encyclopedia by Leif J. Robinson (Editor); Wil Tirion (Editor); Patrick Moore (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849721806
Publication Date: 2007-01-28
Many encyclopedia entries (from aberration to ZZ Ceti star) authenticated by a team of respected academics. Colour illustrations, photographs, artworks, and tables. Star Maps created by Wil Tirion.

DVDs are located on the shelves beside the Reference Desk. They can be checked out, or can be viewed on the computers and laptops available in the library. Check out headphones at the circulation desk.

Unknown Islamic Astronomy - The Roots of Modern Science by NHK ENTERPRISES 21, INC.
Publication Date: 2017
One of astronomy’s most revolutionary discoveries is the heliocentric theory, which stated the sun was at the center of the universe. But it has been recently found that this hypothesis by Nicolaus Copernicus was greatly influenced by Islamic astronomy. In fact, many names of the stars are Arabic. This program looks at the contributions of the sophisticated yet little known Islamic astronomy and charts its journey to Europe.
Origins: fourteen billion years of cosmic evolution by WGBH Boston
Call Number: DVD QB981 .O75 2004
ISBN: 1593751753
Publication Date: 2004
The universe
Call Number: DVD QB982 .U55 2008
ISBN: 1422907988
Publication Date: 2008
Secrets of the Universe: Great Scientists In Their Own Words by Films Media Group [film distributor.].
Publication Date: 2015
Cosmos: A spacetime odyssey by Neil deGrasse Tyson
Call Number: CR Eureka Course Reserve
Publication Date: 2014
Explores how humans discovered the laws of nature and found the coordinates in space and time.
Disc 1. Standing up in the Milky Way -- Some of the things that molecules do -- When knowledge conquered fear -- Hiding in the light.

Call Numbers for Browsing

College of the Redwoods Library Call Numbers

Books in College of the Redwoods library are filed by the Library of Congress system that uses letter-number combinations assigned by subject, so that most books about the same subject will be filed together on the shelf. The HSU Library uses this same system, and so do most colleges and universities in the United States. Astronomy books will be shelved in the QB 1-991 section of the library shelves.

Public (or County) Library Call Numbers

Most public or county libraries in the United States use the Dewey Decimal system, which uses numbers. In the Dewey Decimal system, books about Astronomy will generally be found in the 114 (Space) or the 520 (Astronomy) sections of the shelves.