Many useful resources are available in the College of the Redwoods Library, including books, reference books, eBooks, and videos. Additional resources may be available at the Del Norte or Humboldt County Libraries and Cal Poly Humboldt Library. Visit those libraries' websites to search their catalogs. Use OneSearch to find books and other resources about your topic in the CR library and selected, college-level resources on the web.
 |
Credo Reference is an extensive online collection of reference materials and resources available to CR students and staff. In this guide, you will find many links that pull directly from Credo's resources. However, you can also search Credo directly by typing your research terms in the box below.
Encyclopedia of Race and RacismWhile the CR Library subscribes to a number of databases that are useful in researching almost any topic, there are three that our librarians recommend in particular for researching topics relating to our multicultural society, including Black Americans.
Ethnic NewsWatch specializes in media from ethnic and minority communities, including regional and national publications, both scholarly and popular, by and about Blacks and other people of color. Publications in Ethnic NewsWatch range from popular magazines such as Essence or The Jacksonville Free Press to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals such as The Journal of Blacks in Higher Education. Visit our guide to learn how to use all of Ethnic NewsWatch's features at https://redwoods.libguides.com/EthnicNewsWatch. Click on the link below to search in Ethnic NewsWatch. Using advanced search will allow you to limit your search to articles relating to a specific ethnic group.
The last database is America, History and Life, which covers over 200 journals and over 100 reference books. America, History & Life is an excellent source of information on popular culture, including music, theater, and more.
If you are off campus, or if you are using a wireless device while on campus, you may be prompted to login with your CR email address and password to get into the library's subscription databases or eBooks. Remote login is required to prove that you are a student at College of the Redwoods, because the library pays for student, faculty, and staff access for these resources based on our student enrollment. (Login is not required if you are using a computer connected to the main campus network.)
College of the Redwoods Library Call Numbers
Books in College of the Redwoods library are filed by the Library of Congress system that uses letter-number combinations assigned by subject, so that most books about the same subject will be filed together on the shelf. HSU Library uses this same system, and so do most colleges and universities in the United States. Browse the titles on the shelf in the sections listed below for relevant research topics.
Humboldt County Library Call Numbers
Most public libraries in the United States use the Dewey Decimal system, which uses numbers, and each number section represents a subject, so that books about the same subject are filed together on the shelf. Below are listed some number sections that are relevant to this subject. Remember to also check the Juvenile or children's collection, the YA or Young Adult collection and the Reference collection.
