Many useful resources are available in the College of the Redwoods Library, including books, reference books, eBooks, and videos. Additional resources may be available at the Del Norte or Humboldt County Libraries and Cal Poly Humboldt Library. Visit those libraries' websites to search their catalogs. Use OneSearch to find books and other resources about your topic in the CR library and selected, college-level resources on the web.
 |
To use an ebook log into the book with your student id and password. These may not be checked out or downloaded. They will stay open for 15 minutes if nothing is being clicked.
Business Statistics on the Web by
Statistics are a critical component of business and marketing plans, press releases, surveys, economic analyses, presentations, proposals, and more - yet good statistics are notoriously hard to find. This practical guide shows researchers how to tap the Internet for statistics.
Entrepreneurial Finance by
Featuring key topics within finance, small business management, and entrepreneurship to develop and maintain prosperous business ventures With a comprehensive and organized approach to fundamental financial theories, tools, and management techniques, Entrepreneurial Finance: Fundamentals of Financial Planning and Management for Small Business equips readers with the necessary fundamental knowledge and advanced skills to succeed in small firm and business settings. With a unique combination of topics from finance, small business management, and entrepreneurship, the book prepares readers for the challenges of today's economy. Entrepreneurial Finance: Fundamentals of Financial Planning and Management for Small Business begins with key concepts of small business management and entrepreneurship, including management tools and techniques needed to establish, run, and lead business ventures. The book then delves into how small businesses are operated, managed, and controlled. General finance skills and methods are integrated throughout, and the book also features: Numerous practical examples and scenarios that provide a real-world perspective on entrepreneurship and small business management A brief summary, list of key concepts, and ten discussion questions at the end of each chapter to prepare readers for the challenges of today's economy A practical guide to the complete life of a small business, from establishing a new venture to training and developing young entrepreneurs tasked with maintaining and developing a prosperous economy An in-depth discussion of the entire process of writing a successful business plan, including the rationale, significance, and requirements Techniques needed to solidify the free enterprise tradition, develop entrepreneurial strategies, and grow small businesses Entrepreneurial Finance: Fundamentals of Financial Planning and Management for Small Business is an ideal textbook for upper-undergraduate and first-year graduate courses in entrepreneurial finance within business, economics, management science, and public administration departments. The book is also useful for MBA-level courses as well as for business and management PhD majors as a resource in methodology. The book is also an idea reference for entrepreneurs, business managers, market analysts, and decision makers who require information about the theoretical and quantitative aspects of entrepreneurial finance.
Big Data MBA by
Integrate big data into business to drive competitive advantage and sustainable success Big Data MBA brings insight and expertise to leveraging big data in business so you can harness the power of analytics and gain a true business advantage. Based on a practical framework with supporting methodology and hands-on exercises, this book helps identify where and how big data can help you transform your business. You'll learn how to exploit new sources of customer, product, and operational data, coupled with advanced analytics and data science, to optimize key processes, uncover monetization opportunities, and create new sources of competitive differentiation. The discussion includes guidelines for operationalizing analytics, optimal organizational structure, and using analytic insights throughout your organization's user experience to customers and front-end employees alike. You'll learn to "think like a data scientist" as you build upon the decisions your business is trying to make, the hypotheses you need to test, and the predictions you need to produce. Business stakeholders no longer need to relinquish control of data and analytics to IT. In fact, they must champion the organization's data collection and analysis efforts. This book is a primer on the business approach to analytics, providing the practical understanding you need to convert data into opportunity. Understand where and how to leverage big data Integrate analytics into everyday operations Structure your organization to drive analytic insights Optimize processes, uncover opportunities, and stand out from the rest Help business stakeholders to "think like a data scientist" Understand appropriate business application of different analytic techniques If you want data to transform your business, you need to know how to put it to use. Big Data MBA shows you how to implement big data and analytics to make better decisions.
The Base of the Pyramid Promise by
As economic growth slows in the developed world, the base of the pyramid (BoP) represents perhaps the last great, untapped market. Of the world's 7 billion inhabitants, around 4 billion live in low-income markets in the developing world. These 4 billion people deserve--and, increasingly, are demanding--better lives. At the same time, the business community seeks new opportunities for growth, and the development community is striving to increase its impact. With these forces converging, the potential for mutual value creation is tremendous. This book provides a roadmap for realizing that potential. Drawing on over 25 years of experience across some eighty countries, Ted London offers concrete guidelines for how to build better enterprises while simultaneously alleviating poverty. He outlines three key components that must be integrated to achieve results: the lived experiences of enterprises to date--both successes and failures; the development of an ecosystem that is conducive to market creation; and the voices of the poor, so that entrants can truly understand what poverty alleviation is about. London provides aspiring market leaders and their stakeholders with the tools and techniques needed to succeed in the unique, opportunity-rich BoP.
Crisis Management by
No matter where we work or what we do, there is no stopping the fact that, at some point in our lives, we will encounter a crisis. How an individual responsible for dealing with these types of situations reacts is ultimately the deciding factor as to whether or not they come out safely on the other side. Crisis Management: The Art of Success and Failure focuses on different types of crises, symptoms, and models that recurrently threaten business and political environments. Pulling from no better teacher than history itself, Crisis Management is broken into 30 case studies that provide analysis and theoretical approaches that explore both successful and unsuccessful examples of management in the midst of crisis. While focusing primarily on business and politics, Crisis Management is a powerful tool for all readers who wish to understand how to better tackle crises when they arise. Learning how to remain calm and deal with critical situations is a skill that can be learned and mastered.
Business Research Reporting by
Business Research Reporting addresses the essential activities of locating, collecting, evaluating, analyzing, interpreting, and reporting business data. It highlights the value of primary and secondary research to making business decisions and solving business problems. It aims to help business managers, MBA candidates, and upper-level college students boost their research skills and report research with confidence. This book discusses primary data collection, sampling concepts, and the use of measurement and scales in preparing instruments. Also, this book explores statistical and non-statistical analysis of qualitative and quantitative data and data interpretation (findings, conclusions, and recommendations). The author shows how to locate, evaluate, and extract secondary data found on the web and in brick-and-mortar libraries, including optimized searching, evaluating, and recording. Plus, the book demonstrates how to avoid copyright infringement and plagiarism, use online citation software, and cite sources when writing and presenting. Two glossaries--one each for primary and secondary research--round out the content. Business Research Reporting can be your go-to guidebook for years to come. Reading through it in a couple of hours, you can pick up ample information to apply instantly. Then keep it handy and refer to it in your ongoing research activities.
Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2018-2019, Cloth by
he Occupational Outlook Handbook is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of occupations-such as carpenters, teachers, and veterinarians. Revised every 2 years, the latest version contains employment projections.
Numbers That Matter by
CEOs and business owners face an ever increasingly complex world in which they do business. They are making decisions from accessing viable markets to sell their products and services to attracting and retaining staff all whilst making sure the bills can be paid on time. There are thousands of decisions and actions being taken every day by the people in the businesses they lead. Are they the right ones? The ultimate scorecard of any business is the profit and loss statement and balance sheet, and this book will provide the equivalent of night vision- numbers vision- to improve that score dramatically. Unless you truly understand the numbers that matter it is the metaphorical equivalent of trying to drive a Maserati at 100 kph at night with the lights off and looking in the rear-vision mirror. So sit back and relax we are about to put the high beam on and have you safely looking forward into your heads up display.
50 Business Classics by
What do great enterprises have in common? What sort of person leads them? Where do the best new ideas come from? A single idea can help you find the next big thing, but it takes time to filter through hundreds of business books to find inspiration.With insightful commentaries on over a century of landmark writings, 50 Business Classics presents the great entrepreneur stories, the best management thinking and the proven ideas on strategy, innovation and marketing - illuminated and clarified as never before, in one volume. 50 Business Classics presents the key ideas from classic texts such as My Years with General Motors and Michael Gerber's The E-Myth Revisited to contemporary business lessons from the rise of tech giants like Google, Apple and Amazon. It contains revealing biographies of luminaries like Steve Jobs and Warren Buffett, as well as lesser-known stories including creation of publishing giant Penguin and Chinese behemoth Alibaba. Here you'll find the texts and ideas that matter in: · Entrepreneurship · Leadership · Management · Strategy · Business history · Personal development · Technology and innovation Summarizing the smartest thinking for today's professional success, 50 Business Classics provides inspiration and insights for entrepreneurs, executives and students of business and management alike.
Startup, Scaleup, Screwup by
Real-world tools to build your venture, grow your business, and avoid mistakes Startup, Scaleup, Screwup is an expert guide for emerging and established businesses to accelerate growth, facilitate scalability, and keep pace with the rapidly changing economic landscape. The contemporary marketplace is more dynamic than ever before--increased global competition, the impact of digital transformation, and disruptive innovation factors require businesses to implement agile management and business strategies to compete and thrive. This indispensable book provides business leaders and entrepreneurs the tools and guidance to meet growth and scalability challenges head on. Equal parts motivation and practical application, this book answers the questions every business leader asks from the startup ventures to established companies. Covering topics including funding options, employee hiring, product-market validation, remote team management, agile scaling, and the business lifecycle, this essential resource provides a solid approach to grow at the right pace and stay lean. This book will enable you to: Apply 42 effective tools to sustain and accelerate your business growth Avoid the mistakes and pitfalls associated with rapid business growth or organizational change Develop a clear growth plan to integrate into your overall business model Structure your business for rapid scaling and efficient management Startup, Scaleup, Screwup: 42 Tools to Accelerate Lean & Agile Business Growth is a must-read for entrepreneurs, founders, managers, and senior executives. Author Jurgen Appelo shares his wisdom on the creative economy, agile management, innovation marketing, and organizational change to provide a comprehensive guide to business growth. Practical methods and expert advice make this book an essential addition to any business professional's library.
Streaming videos are available through the Films on Demand database. Use the link below to search the database yourself, or choose one of the selected videos. You may be prompted to enter your student I.D. number as your password.
In addition to numerous ebooks, CR libraries have many print resources available for students. The items below represent only a fraction of the materials available at Eureka and Del Norte campus libraries.
How to Write a Business Plan by
Shows how to write a sound business plan, including strategies for: evaluating the profitability of a business idea; estimating operating expenses... finding potential sources of financing; and presenting a plan to lenders.- BusinessLIFE - a thorough self-help book that will lead you through the process. Examples and worksheets will help you present a convincing financial opportunity to banks and investors in a format they understand.-Home Office Computing - Anyone who starts or operates a small business without a business plan takes a needless risk of either failure or no growth. Here's an easy-to-follow book that takes the reader step-by-step to get the budding entrepreneur off to a successful business start-up. San Francisco Examiner - An essential book to help entrepreneurs - Dallas Morning News
The WSJ Guide to the 50 Economic Indicators That Really Matter by
A wonderfully irreverent and endlessly entertaining guide--with more than 80,000 copies sold worldwide in multiple languages--about the indicators most investors aren't following, but should be! In order to make the best possible investment decisions, savvy investors know that they must pay close attention to economic indicators. But while most are looking at conventional barometers like unemployment rates and housing statistics, the smartest investors are following the curious and often ignored indicators that offer a true sense of where the economy is and where it's heading. These factors have been proven to provide the vital information needed to beat the market. Dow Jones columnist Simon Constable and respected financial historian Robert E. Wright offer valuable tips and insight to help investors forecast and exploit sea changes in the global macroeconomic climate. Unlike other investment handbooks, Constable and Wright's guide explores the little-known economic indicators that the smartest investors watch closely in order to beat the stock market--from "Big Macs" to "zombie banks." This valuable and informative read entertains and enlightens while offering essential advice on navigating the global economic climate.
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Strategic Planning by
Get ahead of the competition with some expert planning. As any business manager knows, success doesn't just happen. It takes hard work and planning to get the desired results. Strategic planning is the discipline that helps businesses build on their present success by analyzing all the factors that can impact the future and take measures to anticipate them. The Complete Idiot's Guide(r) to Strategic Planning offers clear and concrete discussions about: * Defining business goals in mission statements * Proven methods to gather the information necessary to formulate a strategy * Anticipating the competition * Executing a strategic plan
The Secrets of Economic Indicators by
For years, investors, business strategists, and policymakers worldwide have turned to one book to help them translate the massive flow of economic data into knowledge for intelligent decision-making. The Wall Street Journal called this book "...the real deal," saying it "miraculously breathes life into economic indicators and statistics." That book is Bernie Baumohl's classic best-seller The Secrets of Economic Indicators. Now, in a brand-new Third Edition, Baumohl has thoroughly updated his classic to reflect the latest US and foreign economic indicators, and brand-new insights into what all of today's leading indicators mean. Baumohl introduces dozens of new, forward-looking economic markers, including those that monitor small business plans, freight traffic shifts, web searches, and even gambling. He also presents several real-time foreign indicators for anticipating swings in European and Asian economies. He explains what's happened to the global and domestic U.S. economy in recent years, showing how financial crises impact investments, strategy, and economic indicators. New graphics more clearly illuminate how key indicators impact interest rates, bond and stock prices, and currency values; and hundreds of websites containing US and global economic indicators have been updated. This classic book has long been considered an invaluable resource by professionals who need to understand the true meaning of the latest economic trends. With this new edition, Bernie Baumohl has made it even more useful.
The Business Book by
You can achieve your business dream. Beat the odds as you learn from the best - including Henry Ford, Steve Jobs, and Bill Gates - and turn your idea into an amazing and profitable enterprise. The Business Book helps you over the hurdles facing every new business, such as finding a gap in the market, securing finance, employing people, and creating an eye-catching brand. It is a plain-speaking visual guide to 80 of the most important commerce theories including chaos theory, critical path analysis, market mapping, and the MABA matrix. Its graphics and flow diagrams demystify complicated concepts and explain the ideas of seminal business thinkers, such as Malcolm Gladwell's "tipping point" or Michael Porter's "five forces". It shows that you can succeed with stories of rags-to-riches entrepreneurs, including the founders of Hewlett-Packard, who began their global enterprise from their garage. Whether you are a student, a CEO, or a would-be entrepreneur, The Business Book will inspire you and put you on the inside track to making your goal a reality. Series Overview: Big Ideas Simply Explained series uses creative design and innovative graphics along with straightforward and engaging writing to make complex subjects easier to understand. With over 7 million copies worldwide sold to date, these award-winning books provide just the information needed for students, families, or anyone interested in concise, thought-provoking refreshers on a single subject.
During COVID-19 restrictions the Humboldt County Library building is closed but is offering Curbside Delivery. See Curbside Service Hours at all library branches. 'Permanent' Library Cards are free of charge to Humboldt County residents with a permanent local mailing address. 'Express' Library Cards are free of charge and available without providing such an address. If you want to use just our online resources, you can sign up remotely for an eAccount . For more information contact the Humboldt County Library at: 707-269-1915.
The Farmer's Office by
A practical, how-to guide for farmers who want to achieve and maintain financial sustainability in their businesses When you decided to become a farmer, you also became an entrepreneur and business person. In order to be ecologically and financially sustainable, you must understand the basics of accounting and bookkeeping, and learn how to manage a growing business. Author Julia Shanks distills years of teaching and business consulting with farmers into this comprehensive, accessible guide. She covers all aspects of launching, running and growing a successful farm business through effective bookkeeping and business management, providing tools to make managerial decisions, apply for a loan or other financing, and offering general business and strategy advice for growing a business. Whether you've been farming for many years or just getting started, The Farmer's Office gives you the tools needed to think like an entrepreneur and thoughtfully manage your business for success.
The Golden Passport by
A riveting and timely intellectual history of one of our most important capitalist institutions, Harvard Business School, from the bestselling author of The Firm. With The Firm, financial journalist Duff McDonald pulled back the curtain on consulting giant McKinsey & Company. In The Golden Passport, he reveals the inner workings of a singular nexus of power, ambition, and influence: Harvard Business School. Harvard University occupies a unique place in the public's imagination, but HBS has arguably eclipsed its parent in terms of its influence on modern society. A Harvard degree guarantees respect. An HBS degree is, as the New York Times proclaimed in 1978, "the golden passport to life in the upper class." Those holding Harvard MBAs are near-guaranteed entrance into Western capitalism's most powerful realm--the corner office. Most people have a vague knowledge of the power of the HBS network, but few understand the dynamics that have made HBS an indestructible and powerful force for almost a century. As McDonald explores these dynamics, he also reveals how, despite HBS's enormous success, it has failed with respect to the stated goal of its founders: "the multiplication of men who will handle their current business problems in socially constructive ways." While HBS graduates tend to be very good at whatever they do, that is rarely the doing of good. In addition to teasing out the essence of this exclusive, if not necessarily "secret" club, McDonald explores two important questions: Has the school failed at reaching the goals it set for itself And is HBS therefore complicit in the moral failings of Western capitalism At a time of pronounced economic disparity and political unrest, this hard-hitting yet fair portrait offers a much-needed look at an institution that has a profound influence on the shape of our society and all our lives.
The Small Business Start-Up Kit for California by
The only California-specific book for small business start-ups Want to start your own California business? Don't know where to begin? Start here. The Small Business Start-Up Kit for California California shows you how to set up a small business in the Golden State quickly and easily. It clearly explains the fees, forms, and bureaucratic technicalities you'll encounter and shows you how to efficiently get your business up and running in California. Find out how to: choose between an LLC and other business structures write an effective business plan pick a winning business name and protect it get needed California licenses and permits hire and manage staff in compliance with California laws comply with legal and tax issues affecting home businesses price, bid, and bill your projects manage finances and taxes start a website for your business, and market your business effectively, online and off. The 12th edition is completely updated, with the latest legal and tax rules affecting California small businesses, plus social media and e-commerce trends and platforms.