An overview of world history from 1500CE to the present. The cultures, politics, religions, and economic development of societies and civilizations throughout the world are examined. Particular attention is paid to the effects of colonialism and nationalism on the world stage, and the periodic crises that reshaped the links among societies and within civilizations.
Library of Congress Subject Headings are the call numbers used at College of the Redwoods, and Colleges and Universities across the country. Dewey decimal is used at public libraries, including Humboldt Public Library.
Using the history related search words or any words relating to your topic, use the suggested call number ranges to browse for titles of interest, or consult the list of recommended books to the right.
Suggested call number ranges for browsing:
Library of Congress:
D: General History
DA: Great Britain
DAW: Central Europe
DB: Austria - Liechtenstein - Hungary - Czechoslovakia
DC: France - Andorra - Monaco
DD: Germany
DS: Asia
DT:Africa
E: America/ United States
F 201-3799: Latin America. Spanish America
Dewey Decimal:
900:History
920: Biography & genealogy
940: History of Europe
950: History of Asia
960: History of Africa
970:History of North America
980:History of South America
990:History of other areas
Also try searching with these keywords and research topics:
Age of Ideologies
Cold War
Cultural Change
Enlightenment
European Monarchies and Absolutism
French Revolution
Globalization
Imperialism and Colonialism
Industrial Revolution
Mass Politics
Modern Industry
Nation-Building
The New Science
World War I
World War II
When looking for historical research use the full text of these periodicals that can be found in the online databases listed in parentheses:
Civil War Times (Academic Search Premier)
History & Theory (Academic Search Premier)
History Today (MasterFILE Premier)
Historian (America: History and Life)
Naval History (Academic Search Premier)
Or use a keyword or subject search in one of these databases, available at the College of the Redwoods Library Database page.
Full text for more than 2,100 academic research journal dating back to 1985, many are peer reviewed. General, multiple subjects.
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With full-text of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books, from 1955 to present
General multiple-subject encyclopedia, audio, video, and image files, links to college-level, quality websites.
Country profiles, geography, cultural, social, political, & economic, interactive data sets, and links to local news feeds.
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, nearly 200 videos. Credo also provides links to relevant materials from the library's other resources listed on this page.
CREDO History Search topics, books, reference, and related resources about history with this link to CREDO'S history page. You can narrow your search to specific history subjects here.
Find historical to current decade statistics of the USA on a wide range of subjects. Historical context is provided in introductory essays by recognized experts.
Full text for 300 journals and periodicals with current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Pacific by 
The Dream of Reason by 
The Oxford History of the Prison by 
Race to the Moon by 
The Great San Francisco Earthquake by 
Letters from Iwo Jima by Students and faculty at the Del Norte Educational Center in Crescent City can access the same resources and services available to Eureka Campus students. Books from Eureka can be requested and delivered to Del Norte, and vice versa. Online resources are set up to be accessible to all students from any location at any time. Use your Student I.D. number as your password.
To access College of the Redwood’s E-books go to the Library home page and choose “E-books” next to the links on the left used for refining and searching. They can also be accessed by using the catalog. Search by title to find the books listed here, or use the suggested search words to look for other books of interest. Here are some suggested titles for historical research ideas:
The Emergence of Modern America, (1874-1917) by 
Great Events, 1900-2001 by Books and resources at other libraries
Any Humboldt County resident can get a free public library card. Use your HCL library card number as your password.
900-999 is the general call number range for History in the Dewey Decimal System used in public libraries. Public library books will usually focus on interests of consumers or hobbyists, rather than academic or professional. Some selected titles are listed below.
EUR Non-Fiction 959.604 BRINKLEY Cambodia's curse : the modern history of a troubled land
EUR Non-Fiction 944 KEDWARD France and the French : a modern history
The Humboldt County Library has the Humboldt Room on the 3rd floor that houses historic files, books, and information specific to Humboldt County. These reference items are used in the library only.
Humboldt State University Library
HSU Library uses the same call numbering system as CR Library; see suggested call number ranges for browsing listed. The HSU Library has a handy history research guide page http://libguides.humboldt.edu/history for expanding your history research. The library has a special collections housed on the 3rd floor called the Humboldt Room.
To get an HSU library card, if you are not enrolled or employed by HSU, you must pay a fee. You can get access for a day to use the collections or computer.
The following are examples of history titles from the collections at Humboldt State University Library:
DS79.65 .M33 2004 The Modern History of Iraq
DS881.9 .G66 2003 The Modern History of Japan : From Tokugawa Times to the Present
HV22 .C59 2003 Colonialism : An International, Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia
HF1455 .H782 2003 Super Imperialism : The Origin and Fundamentals of U.S. World Dominance
