An introduction to the development of the “West” from the era of Absolutism to the present. A central theme will be how a weak and fragmented western Europe became a major influence in the world, strongly identified with modernity, technology, and expanding economic, political, cultural, and social systems. Students will investigate the increasing power of the nation-state and systems of empire, and the ways in which ideas of race, class, and gender played a part in this evolution. Special attention will be paid to the evolution of ideologies, such as capitalism, imperialism, communism, and globalization.
Library of Congress Subject Headings are the call numbers used at College of the Redwoods, and Colleges and Universities across the country. Dewey decimal is used at public libraries, including Humboldt Public Library.
Using the history related search words or any words relating to your topic, use the suggested call number ranges to browse for titles of interest, or consult the list of recommended books to the right.
Suggested call number ranges for browsing:
Library of Congress:
D: General History
DA: Great Britain
DAW: Central Europe
DB: Austria - Liechtenstein - Hungary - Czechoslovakia
DC: France - Andorra - Monaco
DD: Germany
DS: Asia
DT:Africa
E: America/ United States
F 201-3799: Latin America. Spanish America
Dewey Decimal:
900:History
920: Biography & genealogy
940: History of Europe
950: History of Asia
960: History of Africa
970:History of North America
980:History of South America
990:History of other areas
Also try searching with these keywords and research topics:
Age of Ideologies
Cold War
Cultural Change
Enlightenment
European Monarchies and Absolutism
French Revolution
Globalization
Imperialism and Colonialism
Industrial Revolution
Mass Politics
Modern Industry
Nation-Building
The New Science
World War I
World War II
When looking for historical research use the full text of these periodicals that can be found in the online databases listed in parentheses:
Civil War Times (Academic Search Premier)
History & Theory (Academic Search Premier)
History Today (MasterFILE Premier)
Historian (America: History and Life)
Naval History (Academic Search Premier)
Or use a keyword or subject search in one of these databases, available at the College of the Redwoods Library Database page.
Full text for more than 2,100 academic research journal dating back to 1985, many are peer reviewed. General, multiple subjects.
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With full-text of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books, from 1955 to present
General multiple-subject encyclopedia, audio, video, and image files, links to college-level, quality websites.
Country profiles, geography, cultural, social, political, & economic, interactive data sets, and links to local news feeds.
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, nearly 200 videos. Credo also provides links to relevant materials from the library's other resources listed on this page.
CREDO History Search topics, books, reference, and related resources about history with this link to CREDO'S history page. You can narrow your search to specific history subjects here.
Find historical to current decade statistics of the USA on a wide range of subjects. Historical context is provided in introductory essays by recognized experts.
Full text for 300 journals and periodicals with current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
A Global History of Sexuality by 
A History of Psychology in Western Civilization by 
A Short Guide to Writing about History by 
The Emergence of Modern America (1874-1917) by 
Auschwitz--inside the Nazi state by 
The Civil War ; a film by Ken Burns by 
Founding fathers by 
The great San Francisco earthquake by To access College of the Redwood’s E-books go to the Library home page and choose “E-books” next to the links on the left used for refining and searching. They can also be accessed by using the catalog. Search by title to find the books listed here, or use the suggested search words to look for other books of interest. Here are some suggested titles for historical research ideas:
