Western Civilization 1600 CE to the Reformation
An exploration of the evolution of civilization in the greater Mediterranean region from the development of Paleolithic and Neolithic societies in the Ancient Near East through the Renaissance/Reformation in Europe. Students will examine the multicultural roots of basic institutions, practices, and ideas of Western civilization,such as monotheism, the scientific method, capitalism, and colonialism. Special attention will be paid to changing configurations of political, social, economic, and ideological power, and the region’s developing ties to the Atlantic world.
Library of Congress Subject Headings are the call numbers used at College of the Redwoods, and Colleges and Universities across the country. Dewey decimal is used at public libraries, including Humboldt Public Library.
Using the history related search words or any words relating to your topic, use the suggested call number ranges to browse for titles of interest, or consult the list of recommended books to the right.
Suggested call number ranges for browsing:
Library of Congress:
D: General History
D111-203 Medieval history
DE: Greco-Roman World
DF: Greece
DG: Italy - Malta
DR: Balkan Peninsula
DS: Asia
DT:Africa
Dewey Decimal:
900.1–.9 Standard subdivisions of history and geography
901–909 Standard subdivisions of history, collected accounts of events, world history
930 History of ancient world to ca. 499
940 History of Europe
950 History of Asia
960 History of Africa
Also try searching with these keywords and research topics:
Aramaeans
Assyrians
Astronomy
Agriculture
Chaledean Empire
Civilization
Domestication
Egyptian Civilization
Fire
Invention of writing
Irrigation
Hittites
Mathematics
Mesopotamian Civilization
Mythic-religious
Neo-Babylonian Empire
Neolithic Age
Paleolithic Age
Persians
Pharaohs
Phoenicians
Pyramids
Religion
Spoken language
Slavery
Tools
Trade
Warfare
Zoroastrian
When looking for historical research use the full text of these periodicals that can be found in the online databases listed in parentheses:
History & Theory (Academic Search Premier)
History Today (MasterFILE Premier)
Or use a keyword or subject search in one of these databases, available at the College of the Redwoods Library Database page.
Full text for more than 2,100 academic research journal dating back to 1985, many are peer reviewed. General, multiple subjects.
General multiple-subject encyclopedia, audio, video, and image files, links to college-level, quality websites.
Country profiles, geography, cultural, social, political, & economic, interactive data sets, and links to local news feeds.
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, nearly 200 videos. Credo also provides links to relevant materials from the library's other resources listed on this page.
CREDO History Search topics, books, reference, and related resources about history with this link to CREDO'S history page. You can narrow your search to specific history subjects here.
Ancient Egyptian Medicine by 
Sons, Slaves, and Freedman in Roman Commerce by 
The crusades: crescent & the cross by 
Dynasties :people and passions that changed the world. by 
Guns, germs, and steel by 
Nefertiti and the lost dynasty by Books and resources at other libraries
Any Humboldt County resident can get a free public library card. Use your HCL library card number as your password.
900-999 is the general call number range for History in the Dewey Decimal System used in public libraries. Public library books will usually focus on interests of consumers or hobbyists, rather than academic or professional. Some selected titles are listed below.
911 BROTTON A history of the world in 12 maps
The Humboldt County Library has the Humboldt Room on the 3rd floor that houses historic files, books, and information specific to Humboldt County. These reference items are used in the library only.
Humboldt State University Library
HSU Library uses the same call numbering system as CR Library; see suggested call number ranges for browsing listed. The HSU Library has a handy history research guide page http://libguides.humboldt.edu/history for expanding your history research. The library has a special collections housed on the 3rd floor called the Humboldt Room.
To get an HSU library card, if you are not enrolled or employed by HSU, you must pay a fee. You can get access for a day to use the collections or computer.
The following are examples of history titles from the collections at Humboldt State University Library:
Defining Documents in World History: The ancient world (2700 B.C.E.--c.500 C.E.) by 
The Cambridge History of Hellenistic Philosophy by 
