You can get help with your research, even when you can't come to campus!
Use the icon above to contact a reference librarian by chat or email.
If chat is not available at the moment, email library-reference@redwoods.edu, and a librarian will respond as quickly as possible. Please allow at least 48 hours for responses to emails!
If you are off campus, or if you are using a wireless device while on campus, you may be prompted to login with your CR email address and password to get into the library's subscription databases or eBooks. Remote login is required to prove that you are a student at College of the Redwoods, because the library pays for student, faculty, and staff access for these resources based on our student enrollment. (Login is not required if you are using a computer connected to the main campus network.)
The college has over a dozen databases with mostly research journal articles. The most popular ones are listed individually here. Follow the link below to see a list of all databases that have journal articles.
Tutorial on using Academic Search Complete, one of the library's largest periodicals databases.
Double-click to watch fullscreen. If your computer does not have sound, you can turn on captions by clicking the CC in the lower right of the screen.
Use these databases for newspaper or newswire articles and reports, or for magazine articles from the popular media.
Some databases have a mix of newspapers, magazines, journals, and other media, for example, Ethnic NewsWatch. Look for the options to limit your search results by type or format.
The list below includes more databases from our collection that contain a mix of popular periodicals and newspapers.