It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Learning to write well is an essential life skill. Many courses and programs require written assignments. Most courses in writing are offered in the English department. This guide lists library resources including books, E-books, databases, journals, and websites that may help students develop their writing skills. Talk to a counselor about what classes you need to take to meet your goals.
This handout includes information on how to layout a paper and how to create the Reference List with different resource types, following the APA 6th edition.Current edition is the 7th, and a new handout is being prepared.
NoodleTools provides helpful tools for managing and organizing research projects that includes NoodleBib, used to create and save MLA 8th ed. or APA 6th ed. citation lists or annotated bibliographies, that can be exported to Word or Google docs. Create a personal account to create, save, and edit citation lists, outlines, notes, for any or all of your research projects.
You may be prompted to login with your WebAdvisor user ID and eight digit birth date
Just need one or two quick citations? use NoodleTools Express to format, copy, and paste single citations. Note: citations are not saved and cannot be exported to a word processor; use the full version to access all features.
Free utility does not require login
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: Del Norte & Eureka Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Del Norte & Eureka Reference LB2369 .G53 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Bedford Handbook by Diana Hacker; Nancy Sommers
Call Number: Reference and Reserve PE1408 .H277 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-18
Based on MLA Handbook, 7th edition; Current edition is the 8th and many rules have changed. Be sure to clarify with your instructor which edition is required.
College of the Redwoods Library
7351 Thompkins Hill Rd. Eureka, Ca. 95501
For Del Norte and Distance Education students
Online resources are set up to be accessible to all students from any location at any time. You may be prompted to login using your WebAdvisor ID and your eight digit birth date. Physical format books from Eureka can be requested and delivered to Del Norte, and vice versa.
Useful and Relevant Search Words
These are some of the search words that students may need for a research project. Other words may be useful in addition to those listed below. Consult your textbook, class notes, or assignment guidelines for topic ideas.
Use specific words. Use only one or two words. Try both plural and singular forms. Try varying combinations. Try words for specific issues relevant to the topic.Try both technical and common usage words. Try names of relevant places or persons.