LibGuides: Accessing & Using Videos: Internet Videos

Internet Sites for Streaming Video

A number of openly accessible Internet sites provide streaming videos. Some of these online videos may also be available in the library's subscription video databases or in the DVD collection. The CR Library is not responsible for any of the content linked from the sites below.

We cannot guarantee availability or ADA accessibility of the content they provide, nor assume responsibility for the functionality of these sites. Please note that all videos used in classes should be closed-captioned. Faculty should contact the Distance Education program for more information on accessibility.
Neither can the library or the college confirm whether or not your intended use is permissable under copyright law. Please review the pages in this guide relating to copyright, or see the guide below for more information

Online Streaming Video Sources (A-L)

American Experience
View complete episodes of select films from the acclaimed PBS documentary series.
American Indian Film Gallery
Vintage motion pictures offering rich perspectives on the American Indian experience.
The site organizes titles by tribes, linking to films for more than 100 tribes. A text box to describe each film is nonfunctioning, providing only "lorum ipsum dolor" filler text as a place holder. Apart from what displays in the film itself, no additional information (publication date, running time, etc.) is provided.
These archival films are not perfect. Some were educational shorts used in American schools from the 1930s to the 1970s. Several have abbreviated titles or missing endings. Some are spliced or scratched; others have faded color. These films are windows into the human past, stunning documents with much to tell us about our New World story.
American Memory
The American Memory project from the Library of Congress provides access to several hundred early motion pictures, organized into 11 discrete collections: America at Work, America at Leisure, American Variety Stage, Before and After the Great Earthquake and Fire: Early Films of San Francisco, Inside an American Factory, Last Days of a President: Films of McKinley, Life of a City: Early Films of New York, Origins of American Animation, Prosperity and Thrift, Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures, Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film
American Rhetoric
Features a growing collection of text, audio, and video versions of over 5,000 speeches. The site provides access to "public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events." Includes sections for Christian rhetoric, "Top 100 Speeches," "Rhetorical Figures in Sound," "Rhetoric of 9-11," and more. Notable is the selection of speeches from movies, arranged alphabetically by title.
Not all speeches have accompanying videos. Site supported by advertising, and maintained by a speech communication professor.
Annenberg Media
Part of the Annenberg Foundation, Annenberg Media uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. The Learner.org web site provides access to many of the exceptional educational video programs developed with grant money as telecourses, including series on algebra, art, chemistry, economics, film, history, poetry, and foreign languages, among others.
Not all series listed on the site are available for streaming. This graphic marks programs available for online viewing . Videos stream in Flash. Many of the videos include closed captioning. Users accessing the site on a PC have greater control over the size of the playback window.
AP Archive
This collection includes more than 1 million minutes of digitized film footage to YouTube. Showcasing the moments, people and events that shape the world, it will be the largest upload of historical news content on the video-sharing platform to date. For example, viewers can see video from the San Francisco earthquake in 1906, exclusive footage of the bombing of Pearl Harbor in 1941.
The Archive of American Television
Hosted by the TV Academy Foundation this archive provides access to hundreds of in-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers.
These television history interviews can be browsed by person, show, topic or profession. New interviews and indexes are added regularly.
ArKive.org
Presents a collection of vivid wildlife films and still photographs, with more than 3,500 of the world's leading filmmakers and photographers actively contributing to the project. Also included are teaching resources organized by age, games, and other activities.
The Atlantic
The Atlantic covers news and analysis on politics, business, culture, technology, national, international and life on the official site of The Atlantic Magazine. With subjects like documentary, animation, music and archival.
BBC History of the World in 100 objects
Director of the British Museum, Neil MacGregor, narrates 100 programs that retell humanity's history through the objects we have made. Each episode consists of an image of the item discussed, and a radio narration lasting about 15 minutes.
British Movietone
The channel is a view-on-demand visual encyclopedia, offering a unique perspective on the most significant moments of modern history. Available for all to explore, the channel is a powerful educational tools and a source of inspiration for history enthusiasts and documentary filmmakers. For example, viewers can see Marilyn Monroe captured on film in London in the 1950s and Twiggy modeling the fashions of the 1960s.
C-SPAN Video Library
Contains all C-SPAN programs since 1987, indexed, abstracted, and cataloged by the C-SPAN Archives staff.
Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person with full-text.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Contains all C-SPAN programs since 1987, indexed, abstracted, and cataloged by the C-SPAN Archives staff.
Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person with full-text.
Documentary Heaven
Documentary Heaven is a compilation website for documentaries. The site does not host videos itself, but rather links to and organizers documentaries that are already hosted on other sites such as YouTube and Vimeo. The site gives a brief summary of each documentary and allows comments.
The videos are arranged by a vast number of categories. Some of these categories include 9/11, archeology, art and artists, atheism, biographies, countries, economics, evolution, health, history, human rights, movies, music, nature, performing arts, philosophy, religion, science, sport, technology, and war.
Documentary Heaven encourages independent film makers to link their films to this site as well.
Documentary Network
Explore the world with amazing videos. You can select videos by topic, location or type. The choice is yours. With our World-Map you can travel the world and select drone, timelapse or 360 videos.
Documentary Tube
Watch full-Length documentaries online for free.
EVIA Digital Archive Project - Ethnographic Video for Instruction & Analysis
Collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.
Funded since 2001 by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation with significant contributions from Indiana University and the University of Michigan, the Project has been developed through the joint efforts of ethnographic scholars, archivists, librarians, technologists, and legal experts.
Beyond the primary mission of digitally preserving ethnographic field video, the EVIA Project has also invested significantly in the creation of software and systems for the annotation, discovery, playback, peer review, and scholarly publication of video and accompanying descriptions.
Viewing videos requires registering for an account and agreeing to the end-user license agreement.
Folkstreams
Provides streaming access to a large collection of documentary films about American folk, or roots, cultures. Includes essays about the traditions and filmmakers, transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
Site provides simple keyword and advanced searching, as well as ability to browse by subjects, regions, titles, filmmakers, and other categories. Video displays include links to additional, related films.
Frontline
View complete episodes of a large selection of films from the acclaimed PBS public affairs series.
Health Library Online
The Stanford Health Library provides a collection of online videos covering various health topics, including health and society, cancer support, and women's health.
Videos may be viewable online through Stanford University iUniversity (iTunes interface) or QuickTime, or available for purchase on DVD. Not all videos are available for online viewing.
HippoCampus
A project of the Monterey Institute for Technology and Education (MITE), HippoCampus provides high-quality, multimedia content on general education subjects to high school and college students.
Content is organized by broad disciplines: Algebra, American Government, Biology, Calculus, Environmental Science, Physics, Psychology, Religion, Statistics, US History
The site was designed as part of Open Education Resources (OER), a worldwide effort to improve access to quality education. Colleges and universities develop the content and contributes it to the National Repository of Online Courses (NROC), another MITE project. Both HippoCampus and NROC are supported by The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation.
International Monetary Fund Videos
Provides more than 1,000 short-form videos, generally under 5 minutes, produced by the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Search options permit searching by a combination of elements: Category, Country, Year, Language, and Keyword. Categories include: Countries and Regions, Economic Outlook, Speeches and Interviews, Topics and Issues, among others.
Internet Archive (Wayback Machine)
The Moving Image Archive within the Internet Archive provides access to nearly a quarter million films, uploaded by Archive users, and ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
Videos in the Archive are organized into 15 broad sub-categories: Animation and Cartoons, Arts & Music, Computers & Technology, Cultural & Academic Films, Ephemeral Films, Home Movies, Movies, News & Public Affairs, Open Source Movies, Spirituality & Religion, Sports Videos, Video Games, Vlogs, and Youth Media.
The Archive also contains the Prelinger Archive, the most complete and varied collection of ephemeral films (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) in existence.
Internet Movie Database
Provides access to full-length films and television episodes, many in the public domain. The alphabetic listing of titles links to the IMDB page that describes the film and provides a link to stream the video. The link may redirect or pull the stream from another site such as the Internet Archive, SnagFilms, or Hulu.
Jacob's Pillow Interactions
Free video resource curated by America's longest running dance festival. Click ARTIST, GENRE, or ERA to find dance clips spanning from the 1930s to today.
Lannan Foundation
The Lannan Foundation is a family foundation dedicated to cultural freedom, diversity and creativity through projects which support exceptional contemporary artists and writers, as well as inspired Native activists in rural indigenous communities.
The site provides access to 15 years of audio and video recordings from live events and interviews with notable authors, scholars, and activists. The site also provides @450 brief biographies.
Library of Congress YouTube Channel
Online video from LoC collections and events, including early films from Edison and Westinghouse.

Online Streaming Video Sources (M-Z)

The Living Room Candidate
From the Museum of the Moving Image, this online exhibition features hundreds of commercials from every American presidential campaign since 1952.
Math TV
This site produces materials for mathematics instruction, including textbooks (both print and electronic) videos, online homework, and worksheets.
Media that Matters Festival
Annual collection showcasing twelve short films on important topics of the day. Seven years of films available on the site, organized alphabetically by title, by year. A simple search interface facilitates finding films by keyword.
Films may also be browsed by one of 15 issues: Criminal Justice, Economic Justice, Environment, Family & Society, Gay/Lesbian, Gender/Women, Health/Health Advocacy, Human Rights, Immigration, International, Media, Politics/Government, Racial Justice, Religious Freedom, and Youth.
Metropolitan Museum - Connections
Offers personal perspectives on works of art in the collection by 100 Met staff members, each one addressing a theme such as Motherhood, Magic, Masks, or Water.
Mike Wallace interviews
Video of 65 interviews from the television series hosted by the late Mike Wallace from 1957 and 1958. Provided by the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas at Austin. Each program includes a text transcript. Available interviewees include Eleanor Roosevelt, Frank Lloyd Wright, Margaret Sanger, and Salvador Dali among other notables of the time.
Movie Clips
Provides more than 12,000 short clips from feature films licensed from Fox, MGM, Paramount, Sony, Universal and Warner Bros. The Movieclips player can be embedded in social networks as Facebook, and shared on blogs, Twitter and other personal websites, and used in PowerPoint presentations.
In addition to searching by title or actor, the site provide additional search capabilities for dialogue, genre, action, occassion, theme, and mood and categories including best kiss, tearjerkers, birthdays, holidays, awkward moments, action moments, bad guys and fight scenes. Reuse of the clips requires registering with the site.
Moving Image Archive
This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
MTV
Almost every video that has aired on MTV, available to freely view, supported by ads.
Museum of Broadcast Communications
Physically located in Chicago, but also offers digitized radio and television content.
National Film Registry (Library of Congress)
Sixty-four motion pictures, named to the Library’s National Film Registry and in the public domain, available as streaming video online.
NOVA
Provides access to selected programs from the acclaimed PBS science series. Programs are divided into chapters and have closed captioning.
Available videos are organized by broad subject categories: Anthropology, Disasters, Earth, Exploration, Flight, Health, History, Investigations, Nature, Physics & Math, Space, and Technology.
OpenCulture.com
A thoughtful collection of links to hundreds of Indie Films, Film Noir, Documentaries & More. The list includes films by directors like Fritz Lang, Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, Elia Kazan, Ken Loach, Sergei Eisenstein, Tarkovsky, Capra, Luc Besson, Godard, Hawks, Kubrick, and many more.
Open Video Project
Video clips from a variety of sources, particularly video programs obtained from U.S. government agencies.
P.O.V. Video
Provides a selection of full length films, short films, and lesson plan based clips from the acclaimed PBS documentary film series POV.
PBD Learning Media
Developed by PBS, WNET, and KET, and 31 other PBS stations. Content contributed from publicly funded organizations, including the National Archives, the Library of Congress and NPR, NASA, the National Science Foundation, the National Institutes of Health and the US Department of Education, delivers thousands of resources for use in the classroom and with home-schoolers.
Content aligns with Common Core State Standards for preK-16 classrooms. This collection contains more that than 114,000 research-based instructional resources – including videos, interactives, images, audio files, mobile apps, lesson plans, and worksheets. Requires personal registration on the site.
PBS Video
Provides access to selected programs from selected PBS series (such as Nature, American Experience, Nova, and Frontline, among others.) Users can browse by Programs, Topics, or Collections. Individual programs are subdivided into smaller segments
Pinewood Dialogues
From the Museum of the Moving Image, streaming audio and transcripts of discussions with major figures in film, television, and digital media.
Plunkett Research
Provides short videos on topics related to market research, industry trends analysis, business commentary, and industry statistics on a dedicated YouTube channel.
Includes selected videos specifically geared to the chapters in the book The Next Boom.
Science Cinema
Contains multimedia videos highlighting the U.S. Department of Energy's scientific research. State-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology allows the user to search for specific words and phrases spoken by the presenter in these video files. Simply enter a term and the results list will point to the precise snippets of the video where the term was spoken.
Scribbs Library and Multimedia Archive
From the Miller Center of Public Affairs at the University of Virginia, the Scripps archive provides a unique collection of material on U.S. public policy.
The Library's collection includes streaming video of State of the Union addresses from Kennedy to Obama. The multimedia archive also includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums, and documents related to the executive branch of American government.
SnagFilms
Provides access to full-length documentary films from established distributors and first-time filmmakers. The Snag Films library includes more than 850 films.
Filmmakers and distributors submit titles to SnagFilms for curatorial review. Videos stream in Flash.
TED: Technology, Entertainment, Design
Makes available the best talks and performances from TED and partners. More than 500 TEDTalks are now available, with more added each week. All of the talks feature closed captions in English, and many feature subtitles in various languages. Videos are released under a Creative Commons license, so they can be freely shared and reposted.
Talks are organized under broad subject categories: Technology, Entertainment, Design, Business, Science, and Global Issues.
Thanhouser Film Online
More than 50 films provide a representative cross section of the output produced by the Thanhouser film enterprise based in New Rochelle, New York between 1910 and 1917.
The films were assembled over the past 25 years with the cooperation of archives around the world, including The Library of Congress in Washington, DC, The British Film Institute in London, England, George Eastman House in Rochester, New York, The Museum of Modern Art in New York, New York, the Academy Film Archive in Los Angeles, California, the EYE Film Institute Netherlands in Amsterdam, Holland, and from the Thanhouser collection
Top Documentary Films
TDF is an amalgamation of hundreds of documentary flims covering a wide variety of topics including history, science, politics, and society.
The embedded videos on this site are from Youtube. In fact this site functions as a comprehensive index of Youtube documentaries. There is no meta-data for titles (such as producer or year of production), and TDF makes no attempt to critically evaluate a title for scholarly content. Even so, it is a vast collection of documentary films for reviewing and screening.
TV News
This portion of the Internet Archive collects and preserves television news. The collection contains more than 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added. Use the index of searchable text and short, streamed clips to find programs to borrow on DVD-ROM or view at the Internet Archive’s library in San Francisco. Fees apply for borrowing.
UC Berkley Media Resources Online
A collection online video and audio recordings of notable lectures, events, and readings held at University of California, Berkeley. This database includes both video materials accessible by the general public, and videos licensed for access by current University of California, Berkeley students, faculty, and staff only (CalNet authentication required). Audio recordings in the collection are accessible by all users.
Linked from within this site are audio, video, and text files from the UC Berkeley Library Social Activism Sound Recording Project. This collection includes information on the Free Speech Movement, the Black Panther Party, Anti-Vietnam War Protests in the San Francisco Area and Beyond, and LGBT History.
UCLA Preserved Silent Animation
You can view or download any of the 11 preserved animated silent films and read film notes and historical overviews here http://animation.library.ucla.edu/.
Veoh
Provides access to videos from major content publishers like CBS, ABC, WB, MTV Networks, ESPN, Sony/BMG and Lions Gate, other video sites like YouTube and Hulu, as well as independent filmmakers and content producers.
Users can sort content by type using pull-down menus for Videos, TV Shows, or Movies, each with sub-menus including categories such as Documentary & Biography. Brief commercials precede video playback.
Videoteca
Online Spanish language videos primarily focused on literary topics such as interviews, poetic readings, and theatrical representations.
WGBH Open Vault
Provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.
The World Film Heritage: 1895-1915
From film scholar Klaus Kreimeier, this site offers streaming videos and short essays on major directors of silent film, including films by Griffith, Chaplin, Méliès, Guy, and the Lumiére brothers.
YouTube
Perhaps the best known of all steaming video sites, YouTube is a subsidiary of Google, Inc . The site displays a wide variety of user-uploaded video content, including movie clips, TV clips, and music videos, as well as amateur content such as video blogging and short original videos.
Most of the content on YouTube has been uploaded by individuals, but some media corporations including CBS, the BBC, and other organizations offer some of their material via the site, as part of the YouTube partnership program.
Due to the previous 10 minute limit on YouTube uploads (partners can load longer videos), many programs on the site are divided into several parts.
YouTube can be a source of last resort for out-of-print and hard-to-find content.

College of the Redwoods

Disclaimer: College of the Redwoods Library is not responsible for any of the content linked from these sites. We cannot guarantee availability of the content they provide, nor assume responsibility for the functionality of these sites.