LibGuides: Mental Health & Suicide Prevention: Crisis Situations & Suicide Prevention

Get help from a Librarian!

You can get help with your research, even when you can't come to campus!

Use the icon above to contact a reference librarian by chat or email.

If chat is not available at the moment, you'll be redirected to our "Ask-a-Librarian" form, and a librarian will respond as quickly as possible. Please allow at least 48 hours for responses to emails!

If you are in distress or are with someone at risk right now, call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK (8255) or TEXT 741-741

How can we help a friend or family member, or ourselves, in achieving and maintaining mental health? How can we help prevent a personal or social crisis resulting in harm or death? Experts, counselors, therapists, and first responders have specialized training and education. What can friends, family, acquaintances, or other non-specialists do? We can prepare ourselves before any emergency occurs. This page provides some tips and links to authoritative sources to study BEFORE there is an emergency.

What is a Mental Health crisis?

First Aid for Mental Health Crisis & Prevention

QPR: Question, Persuade, Refer
The QPR Institute provides training in suicide prevention "first aid" technique. This page provides an overview.
Suicide Prevention Awareness
Know the Signs; Find the Words; Reach out; Share. Guidelines for people helping people in distress.

Basic Information about Mental Health Crisis

Suicide: Topic Page
This topic page from Credo Reference online database provides basic background and historical information with current news and analysis, along with links to additional sources from the Library's other online databases.
more...less...
You may be prompted to login with your WebAdvisor user ID and eight digit birth date

Preventing Suicide by John Henden
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781119162933
Publication Date: 2017-01-30
Handbook for practitioners provides a validating and empathetic but also pragmatic, realistic, "what works" approach. You may be prompted to login with your WebAdvisor user ID and eight digit birth date.
Suicide information for teens : health tips about suicide causes and prevention including facts about depression, risk factors, getting help, survivor support, and more
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781786843371
Publication Date: 2017
Suicide risks, causes, and prevention, mental health disorders and life-threatening behaviors linked to suicide risk; suicide warning signs; and explains the most commonly used treatments for suicidal ideation. You may be prompted to login with your WebAdvisor user ID and eight digit birth date.
The International Handbook of Suicide Prevention by Rory C. O'Connor (Editor); Jane Pirkis (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781118903230
Publication Date: 2016-09-14
Scholarly, academic, and technical essays with a global perspective on specific topics in suicide prevention and mental health. Best for research rather than personal help. You may be prompted to login with your WebAdvisor user ID and eight digit birth date.

More Library Resources

Crisis Intervention Handbook by Kenneth Yeager (Editor); Albert Roberts (Editor)
ISBN: 9780190201050
Publication Date: 2015-05-27
This is a thorough revision of the first complete and authoritative handbook that prepares the crisis counselor for rapid assessment and timely crisis intervention in the 21st century. Expanded and fully updated, the Crisis Intervention Handbook: Assessment, Treatment, and Research, Fourth Edition will focus on crisis intervention services for persons who are victims of natural disasters, school-based and home-based violence, violent crimes, and personal or family crises.
First Responder's Guide to Abnormal Psychology by William I. Dorfman; Lenore E. Walker
ISBN: 9780387354651
Publication Date: 2007-12-27
This book gives readers critical insights into the human impact of extreme trauma, and the various levels of mental impairment suffered by both victims and survivors.
Building Back Better by World Health Organization
ISBN: 9789241564571
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
In spite of their tragic nature, and notwithstanding the human suffering they create, emergency situations are also opportunities to build better mental health care. The surge of aid, combined with sudden, focused attention on the mental health of the population, creates unparalleled opportunities to transform mental health care for the long term.
Students' Mental Health Needs by Nicky Stanley (Editor); Jill Manthorpe (Editor); Jim Wade (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781853029837
Publication Date: 2002-01-15
Student life is a time of change and adjustment, and students' families as well as staff need resources to help them provide support for students experiencing mental health difficulties. Based on recent research findings and drawing on the experiences of professionals, academics and service users, this book explores how the needs of students can best be met by student and community mental health services.