You can get help with your research, even when you can't come to campus!
Use the icon above to contact a reference librarian by chat or email.
If chat is not available at the moment, email library-reference@redwoods.edu, and a librarian will respond as quickly as possible. Please allow at least 48 hours for responses to emails!
All of the following museums have extensive online resources.
Academy of Film Museum The Academy Museum of Motion Pictures is a museum in Los Angeles, California constructed by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, which is devoted to the history, science, and cultural impact of the film industry. It is the first large-scale museum of its kind in the United States.
American Indian Museum A diverse and multifaceted cultural and educational enterprise, the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.
Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
This amazing setting in San Francisco is comprised of the de Young Museum in Golden Gate Park and the Legion of Honor in Lincoln Park. They are the largest public arts institution in the City of San Francisco and one of the largest art museums in the United States.
Getty Museum
This museum is located in Los Angeles, California, and is a rich visual and cultural heritage for L.A. and the world. Many of their astute collections are online to view with a focus on ancient Greek and Roman art. This link is for scholars: Research Center and Online Classes.
Heard Museum Since its founding in 1929, the Heard Museum has grown in size and stature to become recognized internationally for the quality of its collections, world-class exhibitions, educational programming, and its unmatched festivals. Dedicated to the advancement of American Indian art, the Heard successfully presents the stories of American Indian people from a first-person perspective, as well as exhibitions that showcase the beauty and vitality of traditional and contemporary art.
Huntington Library, Art Museum, and Botanical Gardens
This world-class museum for gardens, libraries, and art was founded by Henry Huntington and his wife Arabella Huntington who were enriched by real estate, and railroad developments. This is a multi-resource museum located in San Marino, California. The art museum offers varied online research options. Here is a site for more online class information.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art On the Museum's home page you can find links to free enriching and inspiring content for you to Watch, Listen, Learn, Read, and Browse at home.
Louvre Art Museum The Louvre is the world's largest art museum and a historic monument in Paris, France. A central landmark of the city, it is located on the Right Bank of the Seine in the city's 1st arrondissement. Approximately 38,000 objects from prehistory to the 21st century are exhibited over an area of 72,735 square meters. In 2019, the Louvre received 9.6 million visitors, making it the most visited museum in the world.] Visit the museum's exhibition rooms and galleries, contemplate the façades of the Louvre. Here is a link for virtual tours.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art
New York City's premier art museum is a good place to research collections, trends in art history, contemporary art, and online classes under the heading "Learn with Us."
The Museum of Modern Art "At The Museum of Modern Art and MoMA PS1, we celebrate creativity, openness, tolerance, and generosity. We aim to be inclusive places—both onsite and online—where diverse cultural, artistic, social, and political positions are welcome. We’re committed to sharing the most thought-provoking modern and contemporary art, and hope you will join us in exploring the art, ideas, and issues of our time."
National Gallery of Art The web site for the National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C., includes a description of its collections, exhibitions, and online tours. Browse the highlights, search the collection, or search by artist.
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art is a modern art museum located in San Francisco, California. A nonprofit organization, SFMOMA holds an internationally recognized collection of modern and contemporary art and was the first museum on the West Coast devoted solely to 20th-century art. #Museum from Home has a link for online learning.
The Tate Museum The Tate is an institution that houses, in a network of four art museums, the United Kingdom's national collection of British art, and international modern and contemporary art. It is not a government institution, but its main sponsor is the UK Department for Digital, Culture, Media, and Sport.
The Vatican Museums
The Vatican museums are the public art and sculpture museums in the Vatican City near Rome, Italy. They display works from the immense collection amassed by the Catholic Church and the papacy throughout the centuries including several of the most renowned Roman sculptures and most important masterpieces of Renaissance art in the world. The museums contain roughly 70,000 works, of which 20,000 are on display. Online tours of the Vatican Museums.