The books and eBooks listed on this page are just a small selection of the materials available in the CR library. On the Home tab of this guide, you'll find links to search the library's OneSearch catalog as well as Credo Reference, a collection of online reference and research materials.
Basic Human Anatomy: An essential visual guide for artists by 
Beyond words : 200 years of illustrated diaries by 
Encyclopedia of Acrylic Techniques by 
The Practical Handbook for the Emerging Artist by 
Dictionary of Women Artists by 
Prestel Dictionary of Art and Artists by CR Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize books by subject. This system provides for books on similar topics to be shelved together in one area. The first two letters indicate the primary subject. HSU Library uses the same system. The Dewey Decimal system is used by Humboldt County Library. Find the section that matches your topic and you will see most of the books about that topic.
Use the suggested call number ranges to browse for titles of interest, or consult the list of recommended books below.
Suggested call number ranges for browsing:
N Art and Artists
N Visual arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing, Design and Illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts
NX Arts in general
NK Design, pottery, jewelry
TP Ceramics
TR Photography
TT Crafts/Wood
Go to College of the Redwoods Library's A to Z list of databases (link below) to choose your database. Read the database description to choose the best database for your research project, or use one of the selection tools at the top of the page. Then, click the database name and search. Use one or two words or phrases. Try some of the suggested search words listed in this guide. For off-campus or wireless access, login with your CR email address and password.
