From the College’s homepage (https://www.redwoods.edu/), click on Academics in the top banner and then click on Library Homepage from the submenu, see Figure 1.
Figure 1. Snip of CR's homepage, showing the Academics link.
From the Academic submenu click on the Library Home link, see Figure 2.
Figure 2. Academic submenu with link to Library circled.
From the Library Services page, scroll down to the OneSearch widget and type in your search terms, see Figure 3.
Figure 3. OneSearch widget from the Library Resources homepage.
From the search results page, look at the top search bar to make sure that it shows “Everything”. This means that you searched across all the shared and open access resources, see Figure 4.
Figure 4. OneSearch bar showing that the search was performed for "Everything" or across all collections.
On the search results page, there is a left sidebar with several filter options. In the Availability section, there are three options that will help you to find articles
You may not need to select all three options as shown in the screenshot below. When you are done selecting your filters, click the Apply Filters button, see Figure 5.
Figure 5. Showing the availability filters to further refine your search results.
There are more filters available that you can use to further refine your results, see Figure 6. This is especially useful if you have too many results to filter through.
Figure 6. Additional filters to refine your search results.
In OneSearch, you find an article that is “Open Access”. This means that the information is available online for free. See figure 1 for an example of an Open Access journal article found using OneSearch.
Figure 1. Record for an open Access journal article from OneSearch. The Open Access signifier is marked green box.
To go the open access article’s record, click on the “Available Online” link, see figure 2.
Figure 2. Record for an open Access journal article from OneSearch with the Available Online link circled.
You will be re-directed to the article’s record. There are two important pieces of information show in figure 3, below. The first is the phrase “full text”. This means that the entire article is available for free, online. This is important because most professors require that students read the articles they cite and not just the abstract. The second piece of information is the “View record in the Directory of Open Access Journals” link.
Figure 3. Screenshot of an open access article’s detailed record with the record’s link circled.
You will be re-directed to the Directory of Open Access Journals, DOAJ, see figure 4.
Figure 4. Webpage banner of the Directory of Open Access Journals, DOAJ.
Scroll down to the abstract and click on the full text tab, see figure 5.
Figure 5. Screenshot showing the Full Text link from the DOAJ webpage.
You will be re-directed to the open access journal that published the article, see figure 6. The Full-Text button allows you to read the full article online. The Download PDF button allows you to download and save a PDF copy of the article. Browse Figures allows you to look at the figures, graphs, and images that are part of the article. And the Cite this Paper will show you a formatted citation for the article. It is important to note the format of the citation and the format that you professor requires.
Figure 6. Screenshot showing the different reading options for DOAJ open access journal articles.