Many useful resources are available in the College of the Redwoods Library, including books, reference books, eBooks, and videos. Additional resources may be available at the Del Norte or Humboldt County Libraries and Cal Poly Humboldt Library. Visit those libraries' websites to search their catalogs. Use OneSearch to find books and other resources about your topic in the CR library and selected, college-level resources on the web.
 |
The following resource from the American Psychological Association is available in print at the Eureka Library.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5
by
To use an ebook log into the book with your student id and password. These may not be checked out or downloaded. They will stay open for 15 minutes if nothing is being clicked.
The Oxford Handbook of Culture and Psychology
by
Reference books include encyclopedias, handbooks, manuals, guides, dictionaries, and compilations of resources such as primary documents. Reference books will provide a good overview of your topic, in a short and well organized way, and are good for getting started with any research assignment.
Printed reference materials must be used in the library, but usually you will only need to consult these sources briefly.
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
by
A Dictionary of Psychology
by
Encyclopedia of Identity
by
Encyclopedia of the Mind
by
The Freud Encyclopedia
by
These items may be checked out from the College of the Redwoods library. They will be found on the library shelves by their call numbers.
You can also enter the call number in OneSearch and use the virtual browse to locate books with a similar topic.
The Better Angels of Our Nature
by
Personality Disorders and the Five-Factor Model of Personality
by
Psychology: a Very Short Introduction
by
Touch: The science of hand, heart, and mind
by
Videos can be good sources of information, and should always be cited if you use them for research. The videos listed below are streaming and can be watched from your computer, but may require you to login with your student ID to watch. The library also has DVDs which are searchable in OneSearch.
Library books are organized by subject. Most colleges, including College of the Redwoods and Humboldt State University, use the Library of Congress system. This system uses letters and numbers and books are filed alpha-number order. Most public libraries, including the County libraries in California, will use the Dewey Decimal system, which uses only numbers, and books are filed in numerical order. Many libraries will also have a Fiction section filed alphabetically by author.
Listed below are some subject areas where you can find books related to psychology topics.
BF General Psychology
HM Social Psychology
HQ Relationships, Marriage, Sexuality
RC Psychiatry
RJ Pediatrics
