Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Studio Art: Websites

Here you will find library and internet resources for research on topics and issues in Studio Art

Art Websites

Image Websites

Museums

During the Covid19 Pandemic, many museums are sharing their collections online. Some have free resources and online classes.

American Indian Museum A diverse and multifaceted cultural and educational enterprise, the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.

Fine Arts Museums of San Fransisco 
This amazing setting in San Fransisco is comprised of the de Young Museum in Golden Gate Park and the Legion of Honor in Lincoln Park, They are the largest public arts institution in the City of San Francisco and one of the largest art museums in the United States. Here is their mission statement: To connect our visitors with local and global art in order to promote their knowledge and curiosity about the past, deepen their engagement with the art and ideas of today, and stimulate their creative agency in their own futures.

Getty Museum 
This museum is located in Los Angeles, California, and is a rich visual and cultural heritage for L.A. and the world. Many of their astute collections are online to view with a focus on ancient Greek and Roman art. This link is for scholars:  Research Center and Online Classes.

Huntington Library, Art Museum, and Botanical Gardens 
This world-class museum for gardens, libraries, and art was founded by Henry Huntington and his wife Arabella Huntington who were enriched by real estate, and railroad developments. This is a multi-resource museum located in San Marino, California. The art museum offers varied online research options. Here is a site for more online class information.

 Louvre Art Museum The Louvre is the world's largest art museum and a historic monument in Paris, France. A central landmark of the city, it is located on the Right Bank of the Seine in the city's 1st arrondissement. Approximately 38,000 objects from prehistory to the 21st century are exhibited over an area of 72,735 square meters. In 2019, the Louvre received 9.6 million visitors, making it the most visited museum in the world.] Visit the museum's exhibition rooms and galleries, contemplate the façades of the Louvre. Here is a link for virtual tours.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
New York City's premier art museum is a good place to research collections, trends in art history, contemporary art, and online classes under the heading "Learn with Us."

The Museum of Modern Art "At The Museum of Modern Art and MoMA PS1, we celebrate creativity, openness, tolerance, and generosity. We aim to be inclusive places—both onsite and online—where diverse cultural, artistic, social, and political positions are welcome. We’re committed to sharing the most thought-provoking modern and contemporary art, and hope you will join us in exploring the art, ideas, and issues of our time."

National Gallery of Art  The web site for the National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C., includes a description of its collections, exhibitions, and online tours. Browse the highlights, search the collection, or search by artist.

San Francisco Museum of Modern Art 
The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art is a modern art museum located in San Francisco, California. A nonprofit organization, SFMOMA holds an internationally recognized collection of modern and contemporary art and was the first museum on the West Coast devoted solely to 20th-century art. #Museum from Home has a link for online learning.

The Tate Museum The Tate is an institution that houses, in a network of four art museums, the United Kingdom's national collection of British art, and international modern and contemporary art. It is not a government institution, but its main sponsor is the UK Department for Digital, Culture, Media, and Sport.

The Vatican Museums 
The Vatican museums are the public art and sculpture museums in the Vatican City near Rome, Italy. They display works from the immense collection amassed by the Catholic Church and the papacy throughout the centuries including several of the most renowned Roman sculptures and most important masterpieces of Renaissance art in the world. The museums contain roughly 70,000 works, of which 20,000 are on display. Online tours of the Vatican Museums.

Evaluating Web Sources

Once you've found a good website, you need to use your critical thinking skills to evaluate the information:

The following guides may also be useful for you as you research your subject:

Search tips for finding quality websites

TIP #1:  USE SITES RECOMMENDED by sources that have editors, professors, scholars, scientists, or librarians who review and select the best sites. Recommended links lists can be found in these research guides created by our librarians, and online databases such as Britannica, CQ Researcher, CREDO Reference.

TIP #2:  USE FORMAT TERMS when using a search engine such as Google:

  • Video, movie, streaming media, webcam
  • Audio, listen, hear, transcript, recording, MP3, interview, podcast, lecture, presentation
  • Document, research report, academic, scholarly, journal, statistics, pdf, “white paper” “policy statement” “environmental impact report” “primary source” summary, abstract, overview, history, background, chronology, timeline       
  • Encyclopedia, dictionary, handbook, manual, “how to”

TIP #3:  USE SEARCH COMMANDS, or use the advanced search:

  • Google Advanced Search: ...................  http://www.google.com/advanced_search
  • “post traumatic stress disorder”............. Quotation marks around a phrase finds that exact phrase
  • +women  +careers  +nontraditional....... Plus mark requires words to occur on each page retrieved
  • +surfing –internet................................. Minus mark will exclude sites with marked words
  • +medic?  +”heart disease”.................... Wildcard symbol finds all words that begin with those letters
  • +medic*  +”heart disease”..................... Some systems use the ? and some use the * just try both
  • Either medic? or medic*........................ Finds medic, medics, medicine, medicines, medications, etc.

TIP #4:  USE SITE SEARCH to limit to .edu, .gov, or to specific websites:

  • “bird flu” site:.edu                            finds the exact phrase “bird flu” only in .edu websites
  • bird flu site:www.who.int.en            finds the words bird flu on the World Health Organization website
  • mental health statistics site:.gov     finds the words mental health statistics only in .gov websites

TIP #5:  USE LOTS OF SEARCH WORDS that relate to your topic. Think of synonyms, variant forms, and plurals. Consider what words might be used by journalists or popular media, as compared to scientists, specialists, or researchers. Remember, you are searching a HUGE database with all kinds of content. Maximize your chances for success by including as many search words as possible. Some examples:

  • protest demonstration unrest march riot police government civil disobedience
  • women woman gender careers occupations jobs discrimination income salary salaries wages
  • teenagers adolescents teens young adults youth social cultural norms pressures problems issues
  • crime criminals violent offenders prevention recidivism treatment education programs

TIP #6:  TRY OTHER SEARCH ENGINES. Each Internet search engine uses its own proprietary search system, and some are better with certain types of search than others. Most will allow you to use the same search commands outlined in this guide. Engines listed below are the Top Ten most popular search engines in the world, by 2018 market share.

  1. Google commands 75% market share of all searches worldwide
  2. Bing is under 10%, but often better for finding images
  3. Yahoo provides email accounts, finance and marketing tools, and a news aggregator
  4. Ask.com, based on Q&A format with answers from other users or polls
  5. AOL.com, still popular due to ownership of popular blogs and infotainment sites
  6. Baidu, in Chinese (only useful if you know Chinese!)
  7. Wolframalpha, the “Computational Knowledge Engine” for math and science
  8. DuckDuckGo, the only engine that does not track users and usage
  9. Internet Archive, aka “The Wayback Machine” archives historical sites and older versions of current sites
  10. Yandex, in Russian (only useful if you know Russian!)