Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
College of the Redwoods Databases
Go to College of the Redwoods Library's A to Z list of databases (link below) to choose your database. Read the database description to choose the best database for your research project, or use one of the selection tools at the top of the page. Then, click the database name and search. Use one or two words or phrases. Try some of the suggested search words listed in this guide. For off-campus or wireless access, login with your WebAdvisor user ID and eight digit birth date. Listed below are some of the librarian's recommendations for databases useful for this subject.
A to Z list of databases
This page lists and describes all of the library's online databases available for student research. Find a database by title, subject, or type. For off-campus or wireless access, login with your WebAdvisor user ID and eight digit birth date
Research reports on current issues and controversial topics, pro and con arguments, graphics, maps, charts, links to college-level, quality websites
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences
Full text articles from 400 journals, covering emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Use Firefox or Chrome.
Points of View Reference Center
Pro and con essays that will help you understand controversial subjects, and with debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Includes supporting articles and a forum for students to express and exchange their unique views on topics in the news. Use Firefox or Chrome.
Other Useful Databases
Academic Search Complete
Full text articles from over 2,100 academic research journals dating back to 1985, many are peer reviewed. Use Firefox or Chrome.
General multiple-subject encyclopedia, audio, video, and image files, links to college-level, quality websites
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for research projects and homework. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, nearly 200 videos.
Remote Login Required
If you are off campus or using a wireless device while on campus, you may be prompted to login to get into the library's subscription databases. In that case, this is what you will see:
Remote login is required to prove that you are a student at College of the Redwoods, because these library databases are not free, open website available to anyone. Library resources are valuable and often expensive, because the information provided is reliable, credible, and based on a lot of work by many people. The library pays for student, faculty, and staff access.