It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Studio Art: Books (print and ebooks)
Here you will find library and internet resources for research on topics and issues in Studio Art
Many useful resources are available in the College of the Redwoods Library, including books, reference books, Ebooks, and videos. Additional resources may be available at the Del Norte or Humboldt County Libraries and Humboldt State University Library. Visit those libraries' websites to search their catalogs. Use OneSearch to find books and other resources about your topic in the CR library and selected, college-level resources on the web.
Note: Even though we are closed for most in-person use during Fall 2020, print books can still be checked out by calling the library at 707-476-4260 to request the book(s) you want. Requested items can either be picked up in person by arrangement or they can be mailed to your house.
General Collection Books
General Collection books can be checked out from the library by arrangement during Fall 2020. Call 707-476-4260 to pick up a specific book.
500 Bracelets by Marthe Le Van (Editor); Lark Books Staff
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
500 Necklaces by Marthe Le Van (Editor); Lark Books Staff
Call Number: Eureka General Collection TT212 .A15 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-28
Beyond words : 200 years of illustrated diaries by Susan Snyder
Call Number: Eureka Oversize PN4390 .S69 2011
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Ceramic Design Course by Anthony Quinn
Call Number: Del Norte & Eureka General Collection TT920 .Q95 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Encyclopedia of Acrylic Techniques by Hazel Harrison; Search Press Staff
Call Number: Eureka General Collection ND1535 .H372 2009
Publication Date: 2009-05-01
The Practical Handbook for the Emerging Artist by Margaret R. Lazzari
Call Number: Eureka General Collection N6505 .L39 2002
Publication Date: 2001-08-14
Watercolor by Elizabeth Horowitz
Call Number: Del Norte General Collection ND2420 .H67 2006
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Check for Reserve books in catalog.
Available Reserve (textbooks) books can be checked out from the library by arrangement during Fall 2020. Call 707-476-4260 to pick up a specific book.
Long considered the survey of modern art, this engrossing and liberally illustrated text traces the development of trends and influences in painting, sculpture, photography and architecture from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day.
Discover and master the fundamentals of drawing with professional tips and expert instruction. Designed especially for aspiring artists, Beginning Drawing, the third title in Walter Foster's new Portfolio series, offers a well-rounded introduction to the art of basic drawing
Here is the first comprehensive survey of modern craft in the United States. Makers follows the development of studio craft--objects in fiber, clay, glass, wood, and metal--from its roots in nineteenth-century reform movements to the rich diversity of expression at the end of the twentieth century.
The image of a tortured genius working in near isolation has long dominated our conceptions of the artist's studio. Examples abound: think Jackson Pollock dripping resin on a cicada carcass in his shed in the Hamptons. But times have changed; ever since Andy Warhol declared his art space a “factory,” artists have begun to envision themselves as the leaders of production teams, and their sense of what it means to be in the studio has altered just as dramatically as their practices.
Technique-related articles and materials that have been published in Pottery Making Illustrated (PMI). This book will provide the reader with some of the most popular and asked for out-of-print techniques published in PMI since the first issue was published in 1994. Articles will span wheel throwing and hand-building. This will be the first in a planned series of PMI handbooks.
Incomparably rich, monumental, and up to date, these two volumes present the finest scholarship on women in art "from the Middle Ages to the present day, in countries throughout Europe as well as America and Australia.
This full-color, one-volume dictionary provides an authoritative and up-to-date guide through the maze of twentieth-century artists, movements, photographers, techniques, styles, and turn-of-the-century precursors.
From Other Libraries
Any Humboldt County resident can get a free public library card.
Residents and visitors to Del Norte County can get a library card to borrow materials and access online resources. This link is for the County or Public Library. Books held at the Del Norte Campus of CR are included in the CR Library Book Catalog link.
No password or login is required to search. Access to resources is restricted to card holders and registered users.
CR Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize books by subject. This system provides for books on similar topics to be shelved together in one area. The first two letters indicate the primary subject. HSU Library uses the same system. The Dewey Decimal system is used by Humboldt County Library. Find the section that matches your topic and you will see most of the books about that topic.
Use the suggested call number ranges to browse for titles of interest, or consult the list of recommended books below.
Suggested call number ranges for browsing:
N Art and Artists
N Visual arts
NC Drawing, Design and Illustration
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts
NX Arts in general
NK Design, pottery, jewelry
Additional Search Words & Research Topics
To create a successful searches for research topics you may want to use these terms: