Skip to main content

Citation Help: EBSCO Databases

Correctly citing your sources is critical to research project success. The guide provides students with support in learning APA and MLA styles.

Most of the library's databases are provided by the same publisher or vendor, a company called "EBSCO." Visit the library's "A to Z" page to see a list of all databases provided by the library, free to students. Use the "Vendor / Provider" selection box to view a list of all the databases from EBSCO. All EBSCO databases have the same logo and blue and green colored graphic design elements, as well as common commands and features, so the examples provided below for citations are accurate for any of these databases. 

Citations in EBSCO Databases, one article at a time

EBSCO databases all share the same graphic design, layout, and commands. The examples below are from the "Academic Search Complete" but the same features are found in any other EBSCO database. 

If you only want one article, or if you like to save or send one article at a time instead of in a batch, click the article title to display a list of "Tools" or options for just that one article. See the image below, showing the Tools menu along the right. Librarians have tested and verified two methods for acquiring a citation and the full text of the article.

Tools for saving, sending, citing one article

Email Option: Look in the Tools menu for the email icon, which pops up the email options window, (not shown here) where you can choose your citation format, and you will receive an email message with the citation in the email message body, and a pdf of the article as an attachment.

Link Collection Option: You can have an open email message in a separate browser tab or window, and copy and paste one or more links to the articles you like, along with their citations. The red arrow points out the "Cite" tool, and the blue arrow points to the "Permalink" tool. Keep the email message open, and as you find articles you like, copy and paste the citation, and copy and paste the permalink into your email, When you're done, send yourself the email with your list of links and citations. Do NOT use the URL displayed in the browser! That link will never work. Always use the permalink.

If you want to try some of the other options, these have not been tested out by our librarians, so try the option and check your results before using it as a regular collection method.

Citations in EBSCO Databases, collect multiple articles as a batch

EBSCO databases all share the same graphic design, layout, and commands. The examples below are from the "Academic Search Complete" but the same features are found in any other EBSCO database. Shown below is the best way to get citations from multiple articles, using the "add to folder" option. Using the folder also allows you to try different search words, phrases, or combinations, add any articles you like to your folder, and email the articles and their citations to yourself.

For this example, I used the Advanced Search option, and searched on "veterans or military or soldiers or servicemen" and "united states" and "college students"

From the search results list of articles, I saw some that I liked, and added those to the folder by clicking the blue icon with the plus mark that is displayed to the right of the article title. Article 3 has already been added to the folder. Article 4 has not yet been added. 

Icon turns yellow when article is added to folder

Click the blue folder icon to add the article to your folder

After adding to folder all the articles I liked, I can try a new search and continue to add articles. When done, look for the Folder icon (located at the top of the page) showing a yellow folder with pages sticking out to indicate that you have articles stored in the folder. This image also shows the advanced search used to find the articles.

Go to Folder Icon at top right of results list page

Notice to the left of the Folder is a link "Sign In" where you can register and create an account. This allows you to keep a permanent folder. This is most useful when you have more than one class with a research assignment.

Here's the list of articles that are in the folder. There are 6 articles. Notice I chose to Select all. You can select individual articles by using the check box by each article title. Once you've made your selections, choose the "Email" icon you see on the right.

From the folder, select the Email option icon

Once you'be clicked the Email icon, you'll see the email form. Fill out the form with your email address, and a subject, and be sure to select your citation format. I chose MLA Citation format, but there are many others to choose from in the drop down list.

Email options form pop up window

SEE below an email received with one of the articles from the folder. The citation is marked in red. You'll also get a permalink that you can use to click back to the article, and a pdf of the article as an attachment to the email. Pdf's of articles don't always include all the information you need to create a citation. The email method is a good way to 1) get the articles you want; and 2) get the full text in pdf format; and 3) get a formatted citation for that article; and 4) get it all in your email where you can access it anytime. However, although this is very convenient and efficient, it may not be exactly correct in formatting, since it's generated by a computer, not by a smart human being like you. So, you still need to check or proof read your citations with a more reliable source such as a library guide or handout, or the handbook for that citation type.

Email message with citation and attached pdf